Please quote job ref DP1694 on application form. Apply now


Personal Assistant


I am a 23 year old female living in the Mountain Ash area and I have only lived here a short while. I have Multiple chronic Physical and mental health conditions which I was diagnosed with in the past few years. I have limited mobility, which means I usually use a walker when I go out and in the worst cases, resort to using a wheelchair. My conditions cause me to have general anxiety when going out (Especially for medical appointments) and widespread pain. I need to wear compression socks for my lymphedema and will need help putting the socks on as I cannot do this myself. I also have sleep apnoea which means when I sleep I have to use a CPAP machine.  I enjoy watching films and TV and relaxing at home, but also enjoy gaming and crafting and I would like to get out in the community more. 


I am looking to employ a Personal Assistant (PA) to help and support me to be independent in my home such as, preparing for activities, I would also like assistance with going out into the community, undertaking social and leisure activities such as swimming, going to the cinema, thereby helping me to achieve some independence outside of the home too. I would also like some support and help to and from my doctors and hospital appointments as and when required (there is usually a lot of appointments). I would also like some ​support with some household chores such as putting away shopping, help with laundry etc.


Mountain Ash and the surrounding areas


There are 6 hours per week available​ Monday-Friday

Ideally 3x 2 hour blocks but this could change to 1x 6 hour shift if I have a hospital appointment or a certain activity I’d like to do                 

£10.30 per hour including mileage where applicable


  • Driving me in your car to hospital and doctors appointments
  • General support when out in the community
  • Help by reminding of events/ medication times etc.
  • Someone who can reassure me when I feel anxious
  • Taking me shopping and helping me put shopping away




  • Someone who will be reliable and punctual
  • Trustworthy
  • Someone who will respect my home and belongings
  • Friendly and enthusiastic
  • happy to take their time with assisting me as I cannot be rushed
  • Understanding and awareness of anxiety and depression
  • Driver required
  • Helping with cleaning around the house



Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you. 

Thank you.