Please quote job reference DP173 on the application form. Apply now

Part time Personal Assistant-Job Description


I am a gentleman living in the Ferndale area with my wife. I have a Myasthenia Gravis, which results in skeletal muscle weakness. Although I am not as young as I was, I am still young at heart and I enjoy being around people and having a chat. I enjoy playing chess, although I don’t currently have much chance to play, I would enjoy playing with a PA. I also enjoy reading, especially Agatha Christie books, although I don’t read as much anymore because my eye sight has worsened. I like watching films, especially comedy and mysteries. I own all of the Carry On films and really enjoy Sherlock Holmes too. I like all of the music from the 60s, but my favourite band from that time is The Kinks. I watch quite a bit of TV and especially like comedies and Mastermind. I enjoy watching sport, my favourite football team is Swansea City and I also like to watch rugby.  


The work will be both at home and out and about in the community.


I am looking for a Personal Assistant to work with me for 14 hours per week and to cover my other PA’s annual leave/sickness. The purpose of the job is to help me maintain my independence and to accompany me to do different things outside of the home. The job involves taking me out either in my own vehicle, or yours, to take part in community activities, or just to go out for a drive.  It can also mean helping my wife to take me out or staying at home with me whilst my wife goes out. At times I will also need some support at home to do housework. I need a PA who can accompany me on holiday and support me whilst away.


  • Supporting me getting in and out of my car.
  • Someone willing to use their own car on occasion to take me out.
  • Travelling with me in the car to various places e.g. Cardiff, Pontypridd the coast etc.
  • Pushing my wheelchair.
  • Assisting in visits to hospital.
  • Ensuring that I am safe at all times.
  • On occasions helping with my medication and some personal care.
  • During bad weather some time may be spent at my home.
  • Supporting me if I go on holiday.


This position is for up to 30 hours per week, can be worked by one or split between 2 PA's. I need someone who is flexible. The hours may include days, evenings and weekends. The hours to be worked will be agreed in advance.


£10.30 per hour

Mileage will be paid at 40p per mile when driving your own car.


  • Must be flexible as your times of work may change from time to time.
  • Punctual, dependable and trustworthy.
  • A cheerful person with a good sense of humour and a positive and bright outlook.
  • Caring and compassionate in dealing with my health issues
  • Car driver and owner
  • Someone who is happy to work in a smoking environment
  • Someone willing to support me when I go on holiday is essential


I will be your legal employer so you will need a National Insurance number. Pay will be fortnightly by cheque and appropriate annual leave is paid. There will be a trial period and a DBS (police) check will be necessary.