Please quote job reference DP1745 on application. Apply now

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 30 year old man living at home with my parents and cat in the Rhydyfelin area of Pontypridd. I enjoy all sorts of music, but especially classical. I am very knowledgeable about music and have to have the radio on in the car. I like to watch music channels and Disney films on the Ipad. I tend to watch one line of a film, and then rewind to re-watch repeatedly. I like castles, museums and history in general. I don’t like dogs or babies or loud noises in general. I wear headphones when I’m out so that I am not bothered by loud noises around me. I like to talk about what I want to talk about and it is not easy to change the course of conversation. Mum says I am a happy person who won’t be forced into anything. I enjoy going to places that I know, such as Brecon and the beach when it’s quiet. I will only eat crisps, chicken and prawn balls and curry from the Chinese takeaway and cheese and tomato pizza. I have autism. 

PURPOSE OF JOB

I am looking for a Personal Assistant who can support me to socialise and get out of the house. This will allow my parents to have a break from their caring role and have some time to themselves. It will also allow me to have some independence away from mum and dad.

HOURS OF WORK

I have 6 hours per week, which will likely be split into 2 x 3 hour shifts to begin with. These hours will be used flexibly and we can discuss this at interview.

RATES OF PAY

£9.40 per hour plus mileage for journeys we make together

TASKS INVOLVED

  • Driving me to Brecon, museums, castles etc.
  • Supporting me to access the community
  • Suggesting some ideas for things we can do together (although I may need encouragement to try the things suggested)
  • Keeping me safe at all times as I have no sense of danger so will run off at any possible chance
  • Assisting me with toileting
  • Reminding me to go to the toilet
  • Supporting me at home so that my parents can go out

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Experience of adult autism essential (or willingness to go on training)
  • Reliable
  • Patient
  • Car driver/owner essential
  • Encouraging, especially as I don’t always like to leave the car when I go to a new place or a place that’s noisy
  • Male

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.