Please quote job reference DP1800 on the application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE BIT ABOUT ME

I'm A 62 year-old gentleman living in the Aberdare area with my wife and my many pets. I have been diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease. I have extremely limited verbal communication and use a speaking aid.

I am looking to employ someone to support me within my own home. My wife and daughter are my main support network most of the week but hopefully by employing a PA 2 days a week, this would allow my family to have their own personal time and also myself. My main force is to enjoy life to the fullest and be as independent as possible to hopefully long term be able to go out in my local community. My interests are sports, I enjoy any sports activities and we are able to watch this on my TV in my bedroom. I used to work as a graphic designer, so I do enjoy watching building TV programmers and shows. I have done a lot of traveling with my wife and family before I was diagnosed with my condition, I really enjoy talking about the places I have been.

I generally have an all-round like to all topics and I am easily pleased to talk about anything. To communicate I use an iPad, the IPad is supported with eye gaze, and this allows me to communicate with my family and friends. I am also able to use other objects within my room such as turning the TV off and on.

When attending sessions / shifts all the support is provided within my own home. My wife will be home at all times when you are attending a session / shift this is due to my condition and there is a possibility of me choking. Training can be provided to you but when this happens you MUST call my wife immediately. 

My Wife and I are looking for someone who has the compassion to be able to bring a positive attitude to the role every time, Provide encouragement to enjoy life to the fullest and gain my spark back.

Purpose of Job:

To support me within my own home alongside my wife and daughter. Also to encourage me to be positive and support me with my goal to be able to go out in to local community.

HOURS OF WORK

8 hours per week 4 Hours Thursday and 4 Hours on a weekend (Saturday/Sunday).

RATE OF PAY

£10.50 Per Hour.

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Support me within my own home
  • Promote my independence within my own home
  • Promote me to achieve my long term goal – being able to access my local community
  • Promote positive attitude

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Patient, kind and friendly.
  • Energetic and easy to get along with.
  • Positive attitude towards others.
  • Not bothered if smoker or non-smoker.
  • Happy to understand further training if required.

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probationary period of 6 months will be necessary in the first instance. I will be your employer. The wage will be paid 4 weekly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.

This job is subject to a DBS check.