Please quote job reference DP1817 on the application. Apply now 

JOB DESCRIPTION (Guidance)

Part-time Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a gentleman in my 80s living in the Abercynon area with my family and 3 dogs who I love very much. I have many hobbies including playing scrabble and board games, building Lego models and watching history documentaries. I am especially interested in the Military as I was in the army for 16 years. Music is very important to me and I particularly like 50’s and 60’s Rock and Roll. I used to sing and have performed in many holiday camps such as Butlin’s and have sang in local pubs. I have even won a competition for my singing. One of my family’s fondest memories is the last time I performed in public, I had a standing ovation and some of the audience were in tears. I enjoy attending Buffs and have done for 65 years.

One of the main activities I require support with is swimming, I like to do exercises in the pool. I also like to be out and about, with the Brecon Beacons being one of my favourite places to go. I am also a keen gardener and really love sitting out in the garden with nature.

I am mobile however I am unable to walk long distances. I require a form of walking aid or a helping hand as guidance. I will not put a lot of weight on you however, it is purely guidance. When I am out and about I will need support from my wheelchair so I will require you to put the wheelchair in your car, push me in the chair and help me in and out of it (by guiding). The wheelchair has been made to measure and is light weight.

PURPOSE OF JOB

The main purpose of this job is to provide respite for my Granddaughter. I require support in the home and community.

HOURS OF WORK

4 hours a week – preferably worked on Thursday’s and Weekends however this is flexible and can be discussed at interview stage.

RATES OF PAY

£9.70 per hour and £0.40 per mile

TASKS INVOLVED

  • Minimal Personal care
  • Dressing, undressing
  • Help with meal preparation
  • Social outings
  • Community activities
  • Any other reasonable task

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Preferably Male due to minimal personal care
  • Reliable and Punctual
  • Friendly and Chatty
  • Proactive
  • Respect for home
  • Upholds Confidentiality
  • Car driver
  • Consider if Pets in the home
  • I do not tolerate the use of swear words in my home and PA should be respectful of this

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid four weekly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK