Please quote job reference DP1821 on the application form. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION 

Personal Assistants

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a man in my 60’s living in the Beddau area with my wife and dog. I am diabetic, have stage 5 kidney disease and I am bipolar. I have a wicked sense of humour and I used to do a lot of walking. I now use a wheelchair and scooter when out of the house. I am currently receiving agency support, but I would prefer to have Personal Assistants care support if possible.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

I am looking to employ a Personal Assistants to support in the home at morning times, lunch times and bed times. Also, I have a few hours for socialisation.

HOURS OF WORK & TASKS INCLUDED

Total of 14 hours and 45 minutes per week

Only 1 PA needed per shift

(2 PAs would be considered to share the hours)

7 x 1 hour morning calls

Monday to Friday 7am to 7:15am

Weekends 8:30am

  • Emptying night bag and taking off and attaching day bag
  • Transfer from bed to wheeled commode into bathroom
  • Personal care – full body wash, washing hair, shaving, oral hygiene
  • Dressing into fresh day clothes
  • Life line to be worn
  • Wheeling on commode for assistance to stair lift
  • Assistance from stair life downstairs, PA to make sure that the walking frame is near so I can mobilise from the stair lift to my living room
  • Offer breakfast and warm drink preparation
  • Check if I have had my insulin and morning tablets (my wife gives these)

Lunch call, 15 minutes anytime from 12pm to 12:30pm

Monday to Friday

7 x 30 minutes bed time call

Monday to Sunday 9:30pm

  • Support me to get ready for bed
  • Support me upstairs using the stair lift
  • Support to get undressed (lower half), I am independent with my top half
  • Maintain personal care / toilet hygiene care if required
  • Support with dressing into PJs
  • Complete catheter care, empty leg bag and attach night bag
  • Support me into bed

3 hours per week for socialisation, flexible but would be during the morning

  • Take me out once a week into the community using my scooter / wheelchair
  • Support me to take the dog out
  • Engage in social activities such as fishing

RATES OF PAY

 £10.60 per hour

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Someone who will ensure all my needs are met
  • Someone to ensure that I am safe at all times
  • Someone with a good sense of humour
  • Must be reliable and punctual
  • Considerate, caring and trustworthy
  • Someone who is strong, but not too strong
  • Someone to provide support, but not take over
  • Someone who is fine with dogs and happy to take him out with me
  • Someone with knowledge of my conditions
  • Driver with own transport with business class insurance or someone who be comfortable to drive my automatic van (must have a clean licence to put on the insurance). The scooter would need to go in the vehicle.

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.