Please quote job reference DP249 on application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Part-Time Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a lady in my 50’s living with my family in Porth.

I have Cerebral Palsy which affects me physically and also affects my balance and mobility. I am unable to stand or walk which means that I am a wheelchair user and need some assistance with my wheelchair.

I enjoy socialising with people and going out around the shops when I have the opportunity.

I have enjoyed watching sports since the age of 7, particularly professional darts and snooker and I like to attend tournaments periodically through the year.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

I am looking to employ a personal assistant to help and support me to go out into the community, helping to maintain my independence.

This will involve meeting me at home and travelling in your car or by taxi out into the community.

This can include going shopping or out for a meal, going to the cinema or just going out for walk in the afternoon or evening.

This may sometimes be in adverse weather conditions like light rain.

I will need minimal support with personal care, so a female would be preferable. I am of small build, so manual handling (which is not always essential) and lifting would be possible for one person to do safely.

I would also like someone who knows a little bit about computers and is confident enough to help me with mine!

RATES OF PAY

£10.00 per hour

Plus Mileage Allowance (when applicable)

HOURS OF WORK

There are 14 hours per month available.

This will be worked over two days per month for me to Cardiff shopping, which will preferably be on a Monday starting at 9am.

Plus there are additional hours available throughout the year.

There will be additional hours from time to time (around 4 times per year) when I would like to go out for the day or to a Darts or Snooker tournament. This would be a full day’s work and involve some travel and possibly staying overnight.

It is essential that you are able to do this part of the job.

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

Personal Care

  • Assistance and support with toileting
  • Occasional help with transfers
  • Some help with changing clothes

Outside Activities

  • General support whilst out shopping
  • Going to a pub or restaurant for a meal
  • Going to the cinema or ten pin bowling
  • Going to Snooker, Boxing or Darts matches
  • Going to concerts/theatre
  • Going to dental and doctors’ appointments
  • Going to the hairdresser
  • Help with general tasks around the house occasionally

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

 

  • Must be a driver with access to your own vehicle
  • Someone with a knowledge of the local area
  • A person who is dependable and arrives on time
  • Female who can deal competently with personal care
  • A person who has a positive approach to disabled people
  • Someone with an interest in doing a wide variety of activities with me, particularly sporting activities.
  • Someone who is fun, chatty, with a good sense of humour
  • Someone who respects confidentiality and privacy
  • Someone who knows a little bit about computers

 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid on a four weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.