Please quote job reference DPC1079 on the application form. Apply now


Part-Time Personal Assistant


I am a 17-year-old young lad living in Hirwaun with my mam, step-dad and our little dog. I attend school full time and most of the time I am very content with my life. I was diagnosed with Autism when I was 3, and I do struggle with learning at times. My vocabulary is very limited but I am able to say the word for the things I want e.g. crisps, drink, iPad. When I’m at home I enjoy spending time on my iPad watching Thomas the tank and YouTube videos (Thomas and friends are my best friends!). I like just being with my mam and step-dad, Out of the house, I enjoy swimming, walking, dancing, trampolining and generally being active.  

I love going out for long drives just listening to music and chilling in the passenger seat. I also enjoy eating out. I am not too keen on overly crowded places like busy shopping centres but i can cope with them if I have my trains with me. I like to try new experiences, but sometimes need that little bit more patience and understanding from those who support me. I like being helpful and I like the feeling when I have accomplished new tasks. Although life can be very difficult for me, I find the greatest happiness from the smallest of things; Mam says everyone should be like me!


The purpose of the job is to support me to have a more active social life. This will enable me to try new things independently from my family and to encourage me to be actively involved with the community. My mam would like me to have a buddy that I can have lots of fun with and try new and different things.


There are 6 hours available per week which are on flexible basis.  The hours will usually be used after school. We are very flexible with evenings and weekends and are happy to fit in with your free time.


£10.00 plus mileage

£0.40p per mile allowance


  • Going out and about to places I will enjoy
  • Using your car to get to agreed destinations
  • Supporting me with my personal safety while out
  • Helping me to handle money correctly
  • Going to the gym or out for walks


  • Someone flexible, punctual and reliable
  • Someone who doesn’t mind my dog
  • Someone who isn’t fazed by other people
  • Someone who is fit and energetic, enjoys being active
  • Someone who is fun with a good sense of humour
  • Someone who will enjoy a joke and messing around a bit
  • Someone active who will get stuck into activities when we’re out
  • Someone with knowledge of my local area who can think up new things for me to try


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay and be required to complete a DBS which I will arrange and at no expense to you.