Quote REF DPC1335 on Application form Apply now


Part-Time Personal Assistant



Part-Time Personal Assistant 


I am an 8-year-old boy, living with my family in the Gelli area of the Rhondda Valley. 

I’ve been diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder and have chronic asthma which means that I need some help, support and guidance when I’m at home and when I go out and about in the community. 

My disability causes me to have no awareness of danger and to take undue risks. placing myself and others at risk of harm. 

I can drop to the floor suddenly, place foreign objects in my mouth, climb on furniture, runs taps and generally take risks. I have no road safety awareness or sense of my own safety. 

As a result I cannot be left unsupervised at any time.  

Despite this, I’m very active and have a great sense of humour. I enjoy going to the park, going to McDonald’s, swimming, bouncing on the trampoline and love watching the TV. 

I attend school at Ysgol Hen Felin which keeps me busy during the week and I generally spend time with my family outside of school. 


My parents are looking to employ a personal assistant outside of school hours to take me out into the community to undertake social and leisure activities or sit with me at home, helping to promote my independence and develop my social and communication skills whilst giving my parents a short break from their caring role. 

This will involve collecting me from and travelling to wherever the activity is and supervising me to ensure my safety at all times. 

You will work alongside another Personal Assistant when we go out into the community on a 2 to 1 basis to ensure my safety. 

I’m preferably looking for someone who would interact and participate in activities with me. This could be going to the park, going swimming or out to McDonald’s. This could include playing games and doing activities at home with me when the weather is bad. 


£9.00 per hour 

Plus Mileage Allowance (when applicable) 


There are 3 hours per week available. 

Days and hours of work to be mutually arranged. 


  • Making sure I am safe at all times around the house 
  • Making sure I am safe when out and about 
  • Interacting with me at home or out in the community 
  • Providing me with companionship 
  • Taking me to the park or to activities like swimming or the cinema 
  • Driving me to activities further away from home 
  • Helping me to get a snack or drink if needed 


  • Driver with access to own vehicle 
  • Someone quite active and energetic, friendly and approachable 
  • Someone with a good knowledge of the local area 
  • Someone with knowledge or experience of Autism (preferable) 
  • Someone with knowledge or experience of learning and behavioural difficulties (preferable) 
  • Someone patient and understanding 
  • Someone flexible with hours of work 
  • Someone punctual and reliable 


The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Checkwhich will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority). 

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work. 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid on a monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given. 

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.