Please quote job ref DPC1689 on application form. Apply Now        

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am 7-year-old boy living with my mother in Aberdare. I am a happy and polite boy, and I can be very chatty. I love going to the park, bowling and the arcade. My favourite things to do at home is watch tv, reading, playing board games and video games. My favourite video games are Roblox and Super Mario.

I am a clever boy; I have excellent skills in memory and mathematics. I love doing sums or counting in any way I can. I am very good at reading and spelling too.

I have some trouble sometimes making new friends, I struggle a lot with social interaction and not always knowing what to say or do and this can affect my confidence or anxiety. I have a diagnosis of Autism, Global Development Delay and Sensory Processing Disorder. I follow rules and routines strictly and they are important to me. I have sensory issues with smells, tastes and sounds. I sometimes can become upset when around certain foods, smells or even loud noises can frighten me. I like going to parks, soft play areas and exploring wooded areas – though I may require some resting as my legs can hurt. So, only short walks for me! I have low toned muscles especially in my legs, it can make it difficult for me to do things a typical boy my age can do. 

I am a well-behaved child, kind and wish to have the opportunity to go and meet new friends and socialise more.

PURPOSE OF JOB

My mother would like to hire a person to promote my independence and confidence. Someone who understands a child like me and their additional needs and someone who is caring and supportive.

I may need some encouragement on times as I can get upset and struggle with confidence and anxiety. e.g., trying something new. I have a very strong bond with my mother, and I do struggle with attachment so having someone new to build a relationship and trust with is essential to my development and well-being.

HOURS OF WORK

There are 3 hours per week available to be worked after school. Days and times can be discussed. Whichever the day and time is chosen, it will have to be the same every week for my routine.

It is preferred to be picked up from school as I can struggle with transitioning from place to place.

Days that are available are Mon, Tues, Thurs and Fri.

RATES OF PAY

£10 per hour plus mileage for journeys we make together

TASKS INVOLVED

  • Taking me to places – e.g., clubs, soft play, park, arcade etc
  • Going out for food sometimes – e.g. McDonalds, KFC or cafes.
  • Visiting shops – promote my independence shopping, doing small tasks shopping,
  • Talking to me and building up a good trusting relationship
  • Encouraging me to get out and try new things
  • Being extra vigilant as I can sometimes wander or fall
  • Able to identify signs of me feeling anxious or scared
  • I may need prompting and reminding of what is next to support my transitioning and anxiety. E.g. 10 minutes left till we go home.

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • A driver with access to a car will be essential
  • Experience of working with autism would be an advantage
  • Someone who can stay calm and be patient when I am trying new things, communicate or socialise
  • Someone who will engage with me and bring me out of my shell
  • Someone who will be able to work flexibly and will also be reliable
  • Not be easily offended by my honesty. I am never unkind but I like to say what I think and not meaning any harm

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.