Please quote job reference DPC619 on application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

 Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 14-year-old boy who has Down syndrome. I live in the Taffs Well area of Rhondda Cynon Taff with my family. I like many physical activities such as swimming, playing in the park, football, badminton in the garden and trampolining. I also like reading, going on day trips and taking the dog for a walk.  I am presently having music lessons.

My vocabulary understanding is vast, but my speech is limited. I use Makaton, sign language and hand gestures and once you get to know me you will understand how I am feeling.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

My mum and dad are looking to employ a Personal Assistant to provide me with one-to-one support to assist with my social development and allow them to have a break from caring for me.

They are looking to employ someone to help and support me at home and provide them with some respite. Taking me out into the community to undertake social and leisure activities, helping to maintain my independence while ensuring my safety at all times.

HOURS OF WORK

There are 2.5 hours per week available, possibility of more at later date.

I attend Football on a Saturday, but some flexibility is available and times of work to be agreed.

Possibly covering for my other PA for times of absence for annual leave or sickness.  in the garden/park, reading, making tea, bathing, dressing and bed.  Some flexibility is available.

RATE OF PAY

£9.70 per hour

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

Personal Care:

  • Toileting/reminding to go to the toilet
  • Support with Dressing

Mealtimes:

  • Supporting with eating and drinking.
  • Preparing snacks on occasions/Making my tea

Social Hours:

  • Going to different places that I enjoy.
  • Stimulating play at home or at play centres.
  • Making sure I am safe whilst at home and when out and about
  • Taking me out in your own car (Business class Insurance essential) for which mileage will be paid, although car is not essential

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

A person who:

  • Friendly and approachable
  • Is dependable and arrives on time.
  • Someone who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home.
  • Someone with a good sense of humour
  • Someone who will be happy to work alongside the family
  • Someone patient and understanding.
  • Someone who is outgoing, energetic and likes to have fun
  • Someone who is confident and has a mature attitude.
  • Someone who is flexible (very important)
  • Someone who has experience working with children.
  • Non-smoker preferred.
  • Knowledge of Makaton preferred or someone willing to learn.

TRAINING

You will also be required to attend a compulsory Safeguarding Children training course and any other relevant courses that are appropriate to this position. You will also receive instruction from my mum and dad.

ABOUT THE JOB

The post is subject to a satisfactory references, a DBS (Police) Check and Right to Work in the UK checks which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probationary period of 6 months will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.