Quote REF: DPM843 On Application Form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Male Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a caring, lively male aged 25 living with my parents and younger brother in Aberfan and at present attending Ystrad College which I really enjoy.

I have a complex range of conditions which means I have difficulties both physically and with communicating. I suffer from Cerebral Palsy, a severe to profound learning disability, a heart murmur, a visual impairment and Epilepsy.  I am fitted with VNS implant to help control my epilepsy although this is problematic at the moment. I still need to take medication and it is important people listen to me as I will sometimes be aware that a seizure is coming by pointing to my head. Although I am mobile and enjoy being active I do tire quite quickly so will sometimes need some physical support after activities and will occasionally need to use my wheelchair.

I do not like change and I am not happy in crowded environments and a personal assistant would need to be patient and understanding and to encourage me as I can be negative and say I cannot do things. 

I am a huge Chelsea fan and enjoy many activities, at home I like video games especially my X Box, watching films, drawing and colouring, bowling or going to McDonalds.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

My parents are looking to employ a personal assistant to provide the support I need to access social activities after college.

RATE OF PAY

£9.50 per hour

HOURS OF WORK

There are 12.5 hours per week available over 5 days Monday - Friday.

Additional hours are available during college holidays and to cover my other PA’s.

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Supporting me when I get tired or pushing me in my wheelchair.
  • Making sure I am safe at all times as I do not always see danger and always supervising while I am participating in my activities.
  • Taking me out in your own car for which mileage will be paid.
  • Occasionally sitting with me at home, watching television, playing games etc.
  • Some personal care will be involved.
  • Taking me out to do my activities such as swimming bowling etc.
  • Participating in the activities I enjoy.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • A friendly, outgoing, lively person, with a sense of humour.
  • I require a male worker and non-smoker.
  • Someone who is patient and understands how my disability affects me.
  • Someone physically fit who can support me when I get tired.
  • A person who is reliable and punctual.
  • Someone who can work flexibly.
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone’s home.
  • A car driver/owner.
  • Someone willing to attend any relevant training course required for the position.

 

ABOUT THE JOB

Although this is a part-time job, it will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The salary will be paid on a calendar monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to a satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check. The cost of this will be met by the employer.