Quote REF: DPM1248 on Application Form Apply now

Personal Assistant





I am a gentleman in my thirties living with my parents in Aberfan.

I attend a day centre for adults with complex learning and physical disabilities five days a week.  I have Cerebral Palsy and unable to communicate verbally but through gestures and using an E Tran Board and cards I am able to make my needs known.

I enjoy watching television but I prefer to listen to music.

I am a sociable person and enjoy the company of others; with the support of my personal assistants I am able to access other activities in the community.  I attend a group FAB where I am able to meet up with others to socialise. I also enjoy going to the local pub to listen to bands.




The main purpose of the job is to support me in my own home to live independently. Supporting my parent by providing me with assistance with all personal care and tasks within the home and to also support me out in the community to access all the activities I enjoy doing.

I am looking for at least another two or three personal assistants to join my team of personal assistants.   




£9.75 per hour




Monday – Friday    1.50 hours    7 - 7.30 am (start) - 8.30am- 9 am (Finish)

I must be ready by 9am as I attend the day centre every day.


Sat or Sunday 4.30 hours

Total hours per week - 12 hours as Personal assistants will work 2:1.

Please state on your application form the days you are able to cover.




  • Helping me to get out of bed, using specialist equipment e.g. overhead hoist.
  • Assisting me with all aspects of my personal care, hygiene e.g. showering, shaving, brushing my hair and teeth.
  • Providing support with feeding and drinking as I am peg fed.
  • To assist me in and out or repositioning me in my wheelchair to maintain comfort and pressure relief.
  • Ensuring I am safe at all times.
  • Driving me to places I want to go such as the day centre and FAB group.
  • Taking me out locally in my wheelchair(manual)




  • Someone comfortable with all aspects of personal care tasks.
  • A person who is dependable and punctual is important.
  • A person who is patient and understanding of my needs.
  • Someone who has a sense of humour.
  • A person who respects and understands confidentiality when working in someone’s home.
  • Moving and handling experience would be favourable but training will be given.




Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly.

You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.


The post is subject to a satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer. The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.