Please quote ref MPM1828 on application Apply now


Carer/Personal Assistant


I am a severely disabled gentleman in my mid-fifties.

Many years  ago now, when I eventually reached the top of the housing list, I was offered a Cynon Taf Housing Association house, which was a semi-disabled-adapted property in the Llanharan area of Rhondda Cynon Taff and still is a semi-disabled-adapted property.

I moved to the Llanharan area into adapted housing, after a long period of living with my parents, near Pontypridd, which was far from ideal.

I have several conditions that affect my mobility, cognitive functions and my short-term memory.

I have suffered 2 x full strokes (CVA’s) and several mini strokes (TiA’s) which have affected my left side and I also suffer from controlled epilepsy. Due to these conditions I need constant reminding/prompting to do every day things e.g. when to take my medication and have meals and wash etc. I’m not comfortable in very busy situations but I’m able to communicate o.k. in a 1 to 1 situation and 2 to 1 situation with my live-in partner/fiancée present, who has also suffered from: a completely co-incidental; serious stroke & a spinal injury too. We met at a stroke group for “Younger” adults.

I also have angina, following a heart attack, which is controlled mostly. The damage to discs in my spine, has recently been diagnosed as Degenerative Disc Disease & Severe Spinal Stenosis, which has severely affected both my physical back pain & my other Mental Health issues e.g. Depression, Anxiety & PTSD.

I have a hospital bed with an air pressure relieving mattress downstairs (also, occasionally we use our through floor lift and sleep upstairs); use an electric wheelchair (my partner more regularly uses her own electric wheelchair), but I am officially & medically able to drive my 3.5L V6 wheelchair accessible van which does take my electric wheelchair in the back.

Any carer must, when I’m not well enough to drive, be able to drive; self-insured for any vehicle; old enough to drive 3.5L V6 wheelchair accessible van; confident enough to drive such a powerful vehicle; able to secure both my electric wheelchair.

I am interested in Information Technology and used to teach this to adults. I have also run my own business for 20yrs, worked in forensic nursing for 7yrs and as a funeral director’s assistant for 6yrs.

I enjoy other peoples company but enjoy some quiet times as my illnesses can make me feel very tired at times. I also enjoy watching the rugby, as I was a rugby referee for 10 years.

With the help of a Personal Assistant I am looking forward to pursuing new interests (e.g. Wheelchair Snooker & Darts) and re-starting my 10m .177 target rifle shooting at Tondu or Cardiff and archery in Llanharan.


The main purpose of the job is to provide me with the support and encouragement I need at home with every day things, to make sure I am safe & well and that I don’t have more falls at home.. This support will also help me feel more confident, and to introduce new routines and interests into my everyday lifestyle.


·      Support me at home with general domestic tasks

·      Minimal support with personal care, mainly to make sure I am safe

·      Reminding me to take my medication, have a wash, shower or have a meal

·      Assistance preparing lunch and may involve lunchtime cooking

·      Help with preparing food for evening meal.

·      Taking me in your own car to places I enjoy.

·      Taking me on the bus to town for shopping, paying bills etc 

·      Assisting me or participating with me in some of the activities I enjoy

·      Keeping me company at home, watching a film etc.

·      Covering for another personal assistant if they are on annual or sick leave

·      Prompting me to take “Controlled Drugs” for Severe Pain



·      A patient, outgoing person

·      Someone who is reliable and flexible

·      A person who is confident and has a long-term positive commitment to this sector of work

·      A person with a mature attitude who has the ability to assist me in running a home & this “Direct Care Payments” business

·      Someone with initiative to help change repetitive routines and introduce/suggest new interests

·      A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone’s home

·      A driver who is willing to use their own car if necessary for which mileage will be paid or claimed for direct from their monthly tax.

·      Someone who has experience of Epilepsy and Strokes would be an advantage or someone willing to learn or attend courses to help learn more about my disabilities

·      Someone willing to cover for my other personal assistant (if there is a job-share agreement if they are on annual or sick leave



There are 42 hours per week available to be worked flexibly throughout the week.

Weekday, weekend and evening work included.



Starting rate of £12 per hour during your trial period.



This will be a regular job, requiring a National Insurance number. A minimum of 2 weeks and a maximum of 6 months will be the approx. trial period. The wage is paid monthly in arrears, on return of a payslip provided by Dewis the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay for 5.6 weeks pro rata.

This post is subject to an enhanced police check, the cost of which will be met by the Local Authority. First Aid at Work and Manual Handling training will apply, the cost of which will be met by the Local Authority.

Apply now