Please quote job reference MVOG898 on application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 76 year old man from Barry who has worked in a full-time practical job for all of my adult life. I live in an independent living setting for people over 55. I have my own apartment and receive limited support from an in-house domiciliary care team. I also receive ongoing help and support with financial matters from a local charity who deal with all of my bills and regular payments. I have a moderate learning disability and sometimes need help with reading and writing. I may also need support when dealing with telephone calls, letters, forms, and appointments relating to health issues (doctor/dentist/hospital/optician etc.) I sometimes receive help from Social Services, but only as the need arises.

I have two brothers who live in Cardiff and Vale of Glamorgan, and two sisters who live in Sunderland and Weymouth, Dorset. Between them, they do help me, but like me, they are all getting older and sometimes have their own health problems to deal with. My sisters are more involved with issues relating to my apartment, my health providers, and my financial support charity and with Social Services.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

To provide me with the support necessary for day to day living as detailed below.

HOURS OF WORK

2 hours per week to be arranged as and when needed could be taken in block hours.

RATES OF PAY

£10.80 per hour

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

I need someone to help me with the following:

·        Reading and dealing with incoming mail (letters, forms, appointments etc.)

·        Scheduling and accompanying me to appointments where necessary

·        Helping me to carefully plan my weekly supermarket shop (currently ordered online and delivered, but often resulting in a build‑up of items in my apartment if I over‑order)

·        Letting me know about any local community events or activities that I might like to visit/attend and accompany me to these activities, should I ask.

·        Support me in making choices, in order for me to have more control over my life, helping me to participate fully in all aspects of daily life.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

My personal assistant will -

·        Have a clear understanding of learning disabilities and particularly the key difference between learning disabilities and mental ill health.

·        Be trustworthy, patient, reliable, and punctual.

·        Understand and respect, the need for routine in my day to day life and be aware that sudden or unexplained changes to my established routine can cause me anxiety and distress.

·        Be comfortable with my occasional use of inappropriate language and understand that this reflects a degree of personal frustration and/or a limited vocabulary and is not an indication of hostility or aggression.

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid on a 4 weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK