Please quote ref PM1025 on application form Apply Now 



I am a 14-year-old girl who lives in Llantwit Fadre with my parents and older sister. I have Rett Syndrome which is a regressive condition that affects development of the brain. I am non-verbal, non-mobile and require hoisting into/out of my wheelchair. I require assistance with all activities. 

I have a number of health needs which include epilepsy which is well controlled, and I have a gastrostomy for fluids and medication as I find it difficult drinking from a beaker but I eat a soft diet orally if given plenty of time. 

I am easy going, laid back, happy and giggly but my mum says I can also be quite cheeky too. Even though I can not vocalise my needs I can let people know what I want by facial expressions, and once you get to know me then you will understand what I want and how I show this.

I love being sung to, being read stories, sensory toys and being outside in the garden. I like crafts and painting and really enjoy getting messy. I do tend to eat things that I shouldn’t, so whoever is watching me needs to be aware of this. I like going to the cinema, out for walks in my wheelchair and swimming. I am quite adventurous and enjoy accessible activities like seated surfing and seated skiing

Like any other 14-year-old I like to watch TV and play games on my iPad with support.


The purpose of the job is to provide support for me at home when I get in from school and during school holidays whilst my parents are working.

I need Personal Assistants who will treat me as more than a job, someone who appreciates me and wants to spend time with me. My current PA is more like a big sister to me and as such she is treated as part of our family – which is something my mum is very keen to have with any new PA.

I use a hoist that needs 2 people to use but using this is not essential in all parts of my house which has been adapted to suit my needs. If this is not used, then 1 PA could work alone.


In total there are a minimum of 7 hours per week to be used.  I already have another PA but she is limited with what hours she can work so I am ideally looking for someone who could work the following, although hours and days can be negotiated. 

2 days- 3-6.30pm term time

1-2 days (hours negotiable) during school holidays 

Hours and days are flexible and there would also be extra hours available during the school holidays


£13.25 per hour plus expenses paid for activities undertaken


  • Meeting me off school transport
  • Making me a snack and a drink
  • Taking my shoes off and making me comfortable
  • To do activities with me: cooking or painting for example
  • Giving me a bath and providing personal care
  • Taking me out for a walk or playing in the garden


  • Someone patient and understanding
  • Someone proactive who will use their own initiative to find new things for me to do
  • Someone who will be committed to the job and who takes a genuine interest in me
  • Someone reliable and punctual
  • Someone flexible who will be able to cover holidays and sickness
  • Someone with experience of working with children with additional needs
  • Someone who has had manual handling experience- although training will be provided if needed
  • Someone who has had epilepsy training- although training will be provided if needed


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of an on-line payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.

The post is subject to a satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check. The cost of this will be met by the employer.


 Apply Now