Please quote job reference on application PM1155. 

Apply now



I am a 16 year old boy with Autism. I live in Aberdare with my family. Although my verbal communication skills are good, I do have some difficulty with instructions and they need to be broken down for me to understand. I have no sense of danger so need to be kept an eye on at all times.

I enjoy listening to music, particularly the charts and watching MTV. I also love watching quiz shows like Wheel of Fortune and Who Wants to be a Millionaire. In the summer time I like going to the caravan with my family and going for walks.

I am a fun boy who is easy to engage with. I have a few sensory needs which cause me some difficulties. I also need to be kept busy all the time. You will need to be very active to keep up with me and ensure I am entertained.


My mum is looking to employ someone to help me gain independence and have more access to activities in the community.


You will take me out in the community.

Some hours will be spent supporting me on outings with my family and some on our own accessing youth support services.


I currently receive:

8 ¼ hours per week during term-time (as a job share)

9 hours per week during non-term-time per week (as a job share)

Ideally a Monday evening to take me to youth club

Please apply even if you can work some hours as we are flexible


£12.75 per hour including mileage where applicable


  • Taking me to places in the community to attend activities
  • Joining in these activities with me and encourage me to participate
  • Encouraging my communication skills by engaging me in conversation
  • Taking me to a local soft-play centre
  • Taking me out for a meal to a local restaurant and encouraging me to order my own meal
  • Being responsible for my safety
  • Supporting and encouraging me to develop life skills
  • Encouraging me to do new activities
  • Keeping me occupied and my attention focused
  • Thinking of new ways to keep me engaged
  • Day trips


  • A person who is dependable and arrives on time.
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home
  • Ideally someone who has experience with Autism
  • Friendly and approachable
  • A car driver with own car – business class insurance required.
  • Non-drivers will be considered because my mom is willing to transport us if necessary
  • Someone patient and understanding
  • A person who is able to work on their own initiative
  • Someone who is outgoing, energetic and likes to have fun
  • Someone who is flexible (very important)
  • Preferably you will have experience working with children


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probationary period of 6 months will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay. You must hold business class insurance on your car.

The post is subject to a satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the local authorities.

You will also be required to attend Child Safeguarding Training and any other relevant courses that are appropriate to this position.


 Apply now