Please quote job reference PM1748 on application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Casual Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 15-year-old boy with autism and severe learning difficulties. I live with my family in Tonyrefail.

I am sociable and chatty around familiar people and locations, and I am very sporty too, although my learning difficulties has a big impact on my ability.

I like to go out to play pool, bowling, mini golf, athletics and also to visit café’s and occasionally shopping and cinema.  I really like to travel on public transport when possible.  I also enjoy swimming on occasions.

At home I like to play on my pool table, electronic darts board, do puzzles, play board games (orchard) and also play a limited number of games on my x-box.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

You will provide respite for my mother and father and also allow them to spend time with my sister, who is 16. You will support me both inside and outside the home to give them a break.

HOURS OF WORK

10 hours per week available.

Monday evening 6pm to 8:30 for youth club

1 evening Fri/Sat/Sun every week for house sits.

Flexibility is essential should these days need to change

RATES OF PAY

£11.40 per hour

40p mileage when you use your car

TASKS WILL INCLUDE

  • I require constant supervision, ensuring my well-being and safety at all times
  • Assisting me to access food while out in the community and preparing my snacks during sits at home.
  • Ensuring I maintain a good diet by prompting me to eat and drink and assisting me to open food containers and cut up items. I need supervision when eating to make sure that I put small amounts of food into my mouth that I can chew and swallow safely.
  • Engaging me in conversation and encouraging me to mix with my peers when I am out.
  • I need to be monitored as I am diagnosed with epilepsy and I can have periods of absences and need others to maintain my safety if there are any issues.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • You must have a confident and direct approach in communication
  • You’ll be able to lead and initiate conversations, actively keeping me engaged and encouraging me to develop my communication and independence skills wherever possible.
  • Be able to give reassurance and guidance when needed.
  • Proactive in situations and be able to problem solve on your own initiative.
  • Patience is essential.
  • Experience of assisting individuals with autism is preferred, either personal or work-related.
  • You must be flexible, understanding that days and times could change with short notice.
  • A car owner/driver who is willing to use car for work purposes/take me on outings and to youth club. Must have business class insurance.
  • I am quite an active young man and do like to go out and to engage in sport. I have taken part in park runs previously and may wish to have assistance to continue this in future.  An interest in taking part in sport would be of benefit but not essential.

 ABOUT THE JOB

Although this is a casual job, it will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The salary will be paid on a monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to a probationary period and a DBS (Police) Check at no cost to you. You will have to supply 2 references, one of which should be able to comment on your work practices.