Please quote reference VOG324 on application, Apply Now


Temporary Personal Assistant


I am a man in my sixties living in Dinas Powys. I’m interested in music and my favourite genre is reggae. I have an interest in making music and I like to sing reggae songs. I enjoy walking and spending time out of the house. I enjoy going for coffee in local cafes and I regularly go to Penarth, Barry and Dinas Powys. I visit the MIND centre in Barry regularly and have a good relationship with the staff there. I lack confidence going to new places alone, but with a little support I’m quickly comfortable in my surroundings. I have schizophrenia and take regular anti-psychotic medication. I also have mild learning difficulties.  I engage with the mental health team regularly and have monthly blood tests as a result of my medication. I get on with people well and enjoy talking about my interests. I have had a support worker for a long time and we always enjoy the time we spend together. One of my favourite places to visit is the music stall in Barry market. I have a good relationship with the trader there and regularly buy new CD’s from her. I used to visit the Amelia Trust Farm regularly too so I’d like to try that again. I also enjoy going to Cosmeston, St Fagans and would like to find new places to go. 


I would like a personal assistant to enable me to access my local community. I’d like to build my confidence and visit places of my choosing. I’m hoping to develop my ability to use the bus and local bus routes. I would like a PA who can suggest some places for us to go also. 


·        Supporting me to go to places of my choosing such as St Fagans

·        Helping me to collect my medication

·        Attending blood test appointments in the Mental Health Team

·        Driving me in your car

·        Using public transport with me

·        Supporting me and listening to my concerns

·        Keeping me safe at all times because I am a vulnerable adult

·        Suggesting new places for us to go

·        Supporting me at the gym


You will work 6 hours per week 


£12.00 per hour


·             Someone who is friendly

·             Someone reliable, punctual and flexible

·             Someone who is mellow and chilled out

·             Someone with a positive view of mental health issues

·             Someone with experience of this type of work

·             Someone who can help me to develop my confidence

·             Someone who can drive me in their car

·             Someone confident and supportive

·             Someone who doesn’t mind me smoking


Although this is a part-time job, it will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The salary will be paid on a monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to a probationary period and a DBS (Police) Check. You will have to supply 2 references, one of which should be able to comment on your work practices.