Please quote ref VOG493 on application Apply Now

JOB DESCRIPTION

FEMALE Personal Assistant 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 72 year-old woman living in Barry. I live with my husband who is also a disabled person.  We are a team and help each other as much as possible. I usually have two Personal Assistants who I rely on to assist me with all aspects of my daily living and to enable me to live my life as independently as possible. I have a positive outlook on life and despite my many health conditions, I aim to try to keep as positive and cheerful as I can, I try to look on life as a challenge rather than as a problem.  

My hobbies include reading, sewing and painting,  although I need help from my PA to get the things I need out ready to use when I feel up to doing any of them.    

I have multiple health conditions which affect me in different ways.  I live in constant pain. I suffer from chronic joint and muscle pain. I take medication to alleviate my pain and sometimes I need reminding to take them on time as I have a short term memory issue and I suffer more if I am late taking them

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

You will be employed to assist me with all aspects of my daily living this includes assisting me in making evening meals on the days you would be required to work late afternoons. I need someone who is willing to learn, who is reliable and has a cheerful disposition, someone who understands the need for complete confidentiality is very important to me as is someone who is empathetic in issues that might affect me. I would like someone who is happy to have training, which can be arranged if needed. I will provide in house training as well if needed on the issues that affect me personally. I am happy to discuss this with you at interview stage. 

I get Direct Payments to employ my PA’s and I currently have 10 hours per week available.   You will be working days to be agreed (see details below) and will complement the hours my current PA works. but at different times to her. 

It is important that you are able at times to cover at least some of the hours of my other PA and she will reciprocate this for you.  This would be for things such as Annual or other leave. A discussion with both PA’s before agreeing any time off will take place.  The only time this would not be feasible would be if illness is involved, however I will do my best to ensure both parties are ok with any extra hours prior to agreement of any holiday leave being taken.  This would of course be reciprocated between you both.

I am looking for someone who has previous experience of working with a disabled person although this is not essential, It is more important that you are open to learning and happy to work with me as someone I can rely on.  Understanding some of the issues that can arise working with a disabled person would also be helpful, but this too can be discussed at interview, the important thing is that I need someone who can fit in with my life and my other PAs. A Non-smoker is essential because of my health issues. 

I would prefer you to be over 25 but this is not essential if you are the right person for the job. What is essential is that you are happy and able to work in a home with pets. I have a small dog and three cats, so someone who is not allergic or scared of animals is important. . 

The right person for this Job would be a person who is reliable and conscientious, adaptable and be amenable to training, especially in areas around manual handling and disability equality if required. It is imperative I have someone who understands the need for complete confidentiality, and that you have empathy and patience.

PLACE OF WORK

You would be working in my home; however, I may also want your support to go out to any social outings that I want to attend e.g. support group, or to go to the shops if you are on duty when I require this help

HOURS OF WORK  

You will be needed to work Monday to Saturday, as follows: 

Three of your days would be late afternoons from 5.30.-6.30pm these hours can be altered in advance, if there is any problem. The other three days will be mornings from 10.00am working at least 2 hours a day.  Sunday is a day off and is covered by my other pa.  The hours I need you for are broken down as follows

Monday, Wednesday Friday 5.30pm - 6.30pm. 

Tuesday 10.00am-12.00pm        

Thursday, Saturday 10.00am-12.30pm.          

These hours can be discussed at interview and changed slightly to each other’s mutual satisfaction.

RATES OF PAY

£12.25 per hour during the week and

£12.80 per hour at the weekend.

TASKS INVOLVED 

Duties would include the following.

Assistance with:

·         Personal care and toileting needs

·         Help with getting my Lymphodema Stockings on

·         Moving and Handling, assisting with transfer (no lifting involved)

·         Meals and preparation.

·         Medication/collection of prescriptions if required,

·         Social outings, community activities if required.

·         Shopping

·         Hospital appointments

·         Household duties

·         Any other reasonable task

Daily personal tasks, such as assistance with washing and dressing. Helping to moisturise my legs prior to putting on Lymphedema stockings. Help with transferring to and from my wheelchair when I need it. Help with the use of the bathroom. Help with getting my medication ready, eg, reminding me its due and getting it from the cupboard for me. Any other reasonable tasks that might be requested of you. All of these will be discussed in more detail at interview 

 

Enabling me to carry out any chosen activity whether inside or outside my home, by carrying out any other requests which I may reasonably make. 

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid 4 weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given. The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK

 Apply Now