Please quote job reference VOG493 on the application. Apply now

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 70 year-old woman living in Barry. I live with my husband. We are both disabled and help each other as much as possible especially with mental wellbeing. I try to live my life as independently as possible. I have a positive outlook on life and despite my health conditions, I aim to try to keep as positive and cheerful as I can. I try to look on life as a challenge rather than as a problem.

I like to sew using an electric sewing machine when able.  I also like to paint and draw. I can only do things for short periods at a time. I rely on my PA’s to help me carry out my hobbies by getting my equipment out and ready for me to use when I feel up to doing something.     

I am looking to employ someone as soon as possible to replace one of my PA’s who had been with me for more than 3 years but who has now retired. I need to employ a female Personal Assistant due to the type of personal care assistance required and it would be an immediate start subject to references and relevant DBS checks. 

I have multiple health problems that affect me in different ways. I live in constant pain and suffer from chronic joint and muscle pain. I have some weakness in all areas of my body but is particularly worse on the right side of my body including my arms and legs following a stroke. I suffer with Fibromyalgia, Osteo and Rheumatoid Arthritis, which is what causes me the most difficulty.  I also suffer with chronic Fatigue that at times just wipes me out.  I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer for the second time last year, so I am on medication for that. I sometimes need reminding when it is time to take my medication as I have short term memory problems following my stroke, but in all I try to manage as much as possible myself.

I use a power Wheelchair to help me to get out and about when I am able to with the assistance of my PA.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

You would be employed to assist me with all aspects of my daily living, including helping me to make an evening meal on the days you would be working late afternoons. I need someone who is willing to learn, who is reliable and has a cheerful disposition, someone who understands the need for complete confidentiality is very important. I would like someone who is happy to have training, and who is empathetic in issues that might affect me. I will provide in house training as well as any external training that may be required on any issues that might affect me. I am happy to discuss this with you at interview stage.

I receive Direct Payments to help me employ my Personal Assistants. I currently have 10 hours available per week.  You will be working as part of a team at different times to my other Personal Assistant.

It is important that you are able at times to cover at least some of the hours of my other PA. And she for you.  This would be for things such as annual leave or sick leave. A discussion with both PA’s before agreeing any time off will take place.  The only time this would not be feasible would be if illness is involved, however I will do my best to ensure both parties are ok with any extra hours prior to agreement of any holiday leave being taken. This would of course be reciprocated by my other PA for yourself.

I am looking for someone who has previous experience of working with a disabled person although this is not essential, It is more important that you are open to learning and happy to work with me as someone I can rely on.  Understanding some of the issues that can arise working with a disabled person would also be helpful, but this too can be discussed at interview, the important thing is that I need someone who can fit in with my life and my other PA. A Non-smoker is essential because of my health issues.

Due to me owning a mobility car, ideally my PA would be over 25 years old for insurance purposes.  However, I do have another PA who can drive my car so this is not essential. What is essential is that you are happy and able to work in a home with pets. I have a small friendly dog and several cats so someone who is not allergic or scared of animals is important.

The right person for this Job would be a person who is reliable and conscientious, adaptable and be amenable to training, especially in areas around manual handling and disability equality if required. It is imperative I have someone who understands the need for complete confidentiality, and that you have empathy and patience.

PLACE OF WORK

You would be working in my home; however, I may also want your support to go out to any social outings that I want to attend e.g. support group, or to go to the shops if you are on duty.  A driver with a clean driving licence (for insurance) would be desirable but not essential, it would be an asset as I use a wheelchair accessible vehicle to get out and about, training in locking in my wheelchair would be provided if needed. I do have a driver but it is always helpful if both PA’s can drive and a clean driving licence is imperative for the insurance.

HOURS OF WORK  

You will be needed to work Monday to Saturday, as follows: 

Three of your days would be late afternoons from 5.30.-6.30pm these hours can be discussed and altered in advance, if there is any problem. The other three days will be mornings from 10.00am working at least 2 hours a day.  Sunday is a day off and is covered by my other PA.  The hours I need you for are broken down as follows

 

Monday.             1hour    @   5.30pm - 6.30pm.      

Tuesday.             2hours  @ 10.00am-12.00pm.    

Wed                   1hour  @   5.30pm - 6.30pm.      

Thursday.           2hours @ 10.00am-12.00pm.      

Friday.                1.5hours @   5.00pm- 6.30pm or 5.30 to 7.00pm  

Saturday.            2.5hours   @ 10.00am-12.30pm.  

These hours can be discussed at interview and changed slightly to each other’s mutual satisfaction. 

RATES OF PAY

£11.00 per hour during the week. 

£12.00 per hour at the weekend.

TASKS INVOLVED

Duties would include the following.

  • Personal care and toileting needs
  • Dressing, undressing
  • Moving and Handling, assisting with transfer (no lifting involved)
  • Meals: (preparing and cooking)
  • Medication prompts/collection of prescriptions,
  • Social outings, community activities
  • Shopping
  • Hospital appointments
  • Household duties
  • Any other reasonable task I may request you to do during the hours you are working for me.

 

Daily personal tasks, such as assistance with washing and dressing. Helping to moisturise my legs prior to putting on my Lymphedema stockings. Help with transferring to and from my wheelchair when I need it. (I use a transfer board).  Help with the use of the bathroom. Help with getting my medication ready, e.g., reminding me its due and getting it from the cupboard for me. Any other reasonable tasks that might be requested of you.

Enabling me to carry out any chosen activity whether inside or outside my home, by carrying out any other requests which I may reasonable make. All of these will be discussed in more detail at interview

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. I will be your employer and you will be responsible to me in all aspects of your job. You will look to me for any advice or information you require with regard your role. 

 

A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid 4 weekly, on return of a payslip. You will be required to complete a timesheet for the hours you work each week.  I currently do the wages and will provide you with a payslip, your wages will go directly into your bank.   You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

The role requires close personal contact with an individual who is extremely vulnerable to the risk of infection and disease transmission.

Preference may be given to applicants who have been fully vaccinated against Covid-19.

Careful consideration will be given to applicants who can show the vaccination is not suitable for them on reasonable grounds