Please quote job reference VOG637 on the application. Apply now.


Part-Time Personal Assistant


I am a 26 year old lad living in Barry with my mom. I have Cerebral Palsy, Autism and a brain tumour but I don’t let this stop me from being cheerful and making jokes.

On the other hand I can be serious and anxious; therefore I need to have a structured routine to follow to help ease my anxiety. I struggle with social interaction but still do my best to get out into the community. For example, I currently do some volunteer work, go to relaxation classes at Maggie’s Centre in Cardiff and like going out shopping and for a meal.

My interests include Lego, Marvel Superheroes and watching documentaries about the police on IPlayer. It’s important for me to keep active by going for walks because it helps me manage my stress levels.

I am very anxious because of the pandemic and have had both vaccines, as has my mum.


Your job will be to take me out into the local community and use your car to do so.


You will support me socially and encourage me to pursue my own interests and independence.


7.5 hrs p/w, approx 2 – 3 block shifts

No weekend work


£10.50 per hour


(At present we will only do activities in line with government guidelines. Only when I am confident that things are eased will we do indoor activities)

  • Supporting me to access local activities
  • Helping me to learn new life skills
  • Keeping me supervised at all times as I can’t be on my own
  • Going shopping or out for meals
  • Going to Whitchurch on a Wednesday for relaxation class
  • Swimming
  • Attending local classes and training opportunities
  • Going for walks in the local area if the weather is suitable
  • Reassuring me and helping me to manage any anxiety I may experience while we are out
  • Undertaking all tasks with the use of PPE and responsibly following govt guidelines in relation to social distancing and Covid-19


  • An enthusiastic and friendly person is important
  • Car driver and owner is essential – business class insurance on your car is required
  • A male PA is preferred due to swimming and assisting me in the changing rooms
  • Someone mature and sensible enough to deal with meltdowns in public – ie: remain calm and help me through it without getting stressed
  • A calm nature with an interest in keeping active
  • Experience would be useful, but not compulsory
  • You will be proactive and be willing to get involved in activities
  • I would like my PA to be young at heart and share my interests


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. My mum will be your legal employer. The wage will be paid 4-weekly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you. Business class insurance on your car is essential.

You will be required to wear PPE for this role, which will be provided for you.


Thank you.