Quote REF VOG721 on Application form Apply now


Part-Time Personal Assistant 


I am a lady in my eighties living in Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan. 

I have been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, which means my short-term memory is poor, and I need assistance managing the day-to-day tasks of living independently. (Living independently is very important to me.) My daughter lives nearby and visits daily. I also have a beautiful cat that keeps me company. 

I studied languages at university and spent most of my professional life as a schoolteacher. In later years, I worked for the carers’ charity, Crossroads. I enjoy good company and conversation, music and the arts. I also love being out in nature; walking in the woods or by the sea. 


I’m looking to employ a personal assistant to help and support me to live independently in my home and to join me on outings in the community, for example, shopping or visits to the local country park. 


£9.75 per hour 


Monday to Friday – 2 hours per day (10 hours per week) 


  • General domestic tasks including light cleaning, laundry, making beds.
  • Accompanying me to the shops.
  • Preparing meals together.
  • Assisting with attending medical appointments, if necessary.
  • Taking me out in your own car to the Country Park or seafront, for example. Mileage will be paid.
  • Occasional additional hours to allow my daughter to travel for a couple of days when necessary.


  • Driver with access to own vehicle
  • Someone with a good knowledge of the local area
  • A person with experience of Alzheimer’s and a positive commitment.
  • A person who is dependable and arrives on time.
  • A person who is kind and patient, with a friendly and easy-going manner.
  • A person who would feel comfortable and relaxed working in my home.
  • A person who likes cats.
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home.
  • A person who can be flexible with the hours on offer.
  • A pro-active person who is willing to help with other reasonable tasks.
  • Although as a personal assistant you would be my employee, it is important to me that we work together in a friendly, mutually respectful way and build up a good rapport.
  • A person who is happy liaising with my daughter to ensure that day-to-day needs are covered.


The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority). 

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work. 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the 

first instance. The wage will be paid on a four weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given. 

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.