Please quote job reference VOG819 on the application. Apply now


Personal Assistant (Part-Time)


Emelene (Meem) is a popular, happy and caring child. She was born with the condition ACC, which means that the part of her brain that connects the two sides of her brain is missing; this means that she has global development delay and has limited mobility. However, she is very chatty and has a great sense of humour! Emelene loves watching movies and is particularly keen on Disney Pixar films – Soul and Coco are her favourites. She likes to eat chips with mayonnaise and spaghetti Bolognese is also a favourite. For an occasional treat, nothing beats a McDonalds!

Meem is currently not able to use the toilet, so is in nappies, and she sometimes needs help eating and drinking – although she often likes to do this herself. She also uses a wheelchair to move about, except in the home where she’s more confident in walking small distances.

She likes to talk/interact with everyone, including strangers, so care needs to be taken with her interaction with others and how appropriate the level of interaction is – she is very affectionate and often asks for cuddles/kisses which we discourage except for family.

She is not keen on people touching her hair or physically fussing her, teasing or using sarcastic humour. She doesn’t understand it. She likes to chat but often is difficult to understand so patience is important.

Meem also has epilepsy, which is reasonably well controlled.


There a 4 hours per month available, working 2 x 2 hour sessions at the weekend.


We are looking for a Personal Assistant (PA) to help and support me with tasks at home and to go out into the community, ensuring my safety.

Meem loves reading books and watching movies. A trip to the cinema to see the latest Disney film with a visit to McDonalds is her idea of the best day out! She’s less keen on noisy and enclosed environments. She is a proper home-bird and loves to sit and read or watch TV.


£12.00 per hour


  • Helping Meem to eat/drink
  • Helping to change nappy
  • Sitting with Meem and read books, watch film/TV
  • Taking Meem out for food and/or to the cinema
  • Ensuring Meem’s safety at all times


  • A driver with access to your own vehicle is preferable
  • Someone who is patient and has a sense of humour
  • Someone with knowledge of Disney/Pixar movies
  • A person who is dependable, reliable and arrives on time


The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The salary will be paid on a Four Weekly basis (on or around the 5th of the month) and appropriate holiday pay given.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.