Please quote ref: CDP225 on application form apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Two Female Personal Assistants Required

 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I have recently been diagnosed with front temporal dementia, which has led to a reduced ability to undertake more complicated tasks and think through more difficult situations. Sometimes I am unable to find the right words when speaking. I need assistance when my husband is in work to ensure I am safe, both when I am in the house and when I go out, including taking things with me that I will need. I am looking for Two Personal Care Assistants to cover different shifts. Assistance is  needed in relation to the preparation of meals when I am at home, along with some light housework. I enjoy listening to music particularly Rock and Roll, I also sing in a local choir. I enjoy activities that stimulate my mind, i.e cards, and dominoes. I also like to walk and visit coffee shops and looking after the family tortoise.

Purpose of the Job

I need support with activities within my home and when I go out to ensure that I am safe, my home is secure, and my well-being is supported. 

Place of Work

I live in the Cyncoed area of Cardiff. Travel to day centres and other near by places may be required. A full driving licence with suitable business insurance would be a bonus.

 

HOURS OF WORK

 

20 hours a week broken down

- Tuesday 8am to 6pm

- Wednesday 8am to 10am and 2pm to 6.30pm

- Thursday 3pm to 6.30pm

 

Flexibility between the carers will be required to work across these times and to cover each other for Annual leave or for other reasons when the other Personal Assistance cannot cover – note only 1 personal assistance will be required on each shift

 RATE OF PAY

 £12.55

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

 

·         Ensuring my safety and well-being within my home

·         Support me out in the community

·         Ensuring that my home is secure when I go out.

·         Providing meals at lunch and drinks throughout the day.

·         Assisting with Light household duties


 TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·         Reliable and punctual

·         Able to respect me and family’s privacy and confidentiality

·         Flexible and adaptable to meet my needs

·         Able to support me to maintain and develop relationships with friends and family

·         Be able to report any changing conditions, or incidents relating to my condition to my husband, or family.

 

Desirable Qualities

·         Emotionally intelligent notably picking up on non-verbal communication

·         Previous experience of working with people with Dementia, or similar conditions.

·         Full Driving Licence and access to car with business insurance.

·         Enjoys Music

·         Patient

·         Good Sense of  Humor

 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A probation period will be necessary in the first instance.  Wages will be paid 4 weekly.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

 

Thank you

                               apply now