Quote ref: CDP516 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION
Relief Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a full-time wheelchair user, with some mild learning difficulties that affect my short-term memory retention. I live independently in my own home, and am supported by my family and my older sister who provides me with the majority of support around my finances and care.

I turned 40 last year, and am currently living in the Llandaff North area of Cardiff. I need assistance with day-to-day activities, such as personal care, dressing, food preparation and driving my wheelchair accessible vehicle when I go out and about to visit friends and family.

I have a lot of social anxiety and need support and encouragement to go out, but once I’m out I have a great time. I love to watch movies, in particular Horror, but don’t worry if that isn’t your thing, I have plenty of people that will watch a scary film with me. I like plenty of other genres too. I love to go out for a drive in my adapted van. I have a wicked sense of humour and am quite sarcastic. I have speech difficulties because of my disability, it takes practice to understand me, but with time you will be able to pick up on what I’m saying. I don’t like it when people finish my sentences for me or interrupt me.

PURPOSE OF JOB
I need support with activities within my home as well as accessing the local community.

PLACE OF WORK


I live in the Llandaff North area of Cardiff. Travel away from normal place of work may be required on occasions. A full driving licence for a manual vehicle is essential.

HOURS OF WORK

I have a 24-hour care package that is broken down into 4 shift categories: I am currently looking for female a personal assistant to join my team of carers.

Cover is needed for my permanent PA's, when they take annual leave and sickness. As and when requried.

RATE OF PAY

£11.00 per hour.


TASKS INVOLVED

● Providing meals and drinks and snacks breakfast / lunch.
● Washing cleaning domestic tasks.
● Social calls
● Personal care- Female PA required.
● Administration of meds( training will be given)
● Manual Handling support needed with transferring.(training will be given)

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

Essential qualities

● Reliable and punctual.
● Able to respect my privacy and confidentiality.
● Have common sense and initiative.
● Full driving licence.
● Flexible and adaptable to meet my needs.
● Able to work well as part of a team
● Able to support me to maintain and develop relationships with friends and family

Desirable qualities

● Easy going personality
● Emotionally Intelligent
● Great Sense of Humour
● Able to Swim
● Enjoys cinema and television
● Not easily offended
● Good with technology such as iPad, iPhone, Windows PC, Amazon Alexa and Smart TV’s

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probation period will be necessary in the first instance. Wages will be paid 4 weekly. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

Thank you.