Please quote job reference MPM1844 B on application. Apply now


Part-time Personal Assistant 


I’m an 8 year old boy living in Church Village with my mum and younger sister.  I have some complex medical conditions and receive support from various professionals. I had an early start to life being born at 30 weeks. I am unilateral deaf and blind on my left side and I’ve had an operation to correct choanal atresia. After a lot of high input physio over the years I can now walk and run. At times I use picture symbols to communicate because I am non-verbal.

I love music, flashing lights toys, going to the park or just generally being outdoors running, playing and kicking a ball. I am a very happy and loving child, I laugh often and like to be tickled if we are engaging well with each other.

When I become frustrated or over-excited I can act out by throwing things, biting, pulling hair or banging on windows. There’s no nastiness in how I act, it’s just how I process and react to a situation. When I’m distressed I can self-harm, head bang or slap myself. I don’t have a sense of danger so don’t understand that this isn’t a good idea. I tend to put things in my mouth and put my hand in my nappy when it’s dirty, so it always needs to be changed straight away. It does help for me to have my own quiet time which I enjoy.

I enjoy going to school and engaging in learning activities on the autistic program.


To support me to participate in community activities and on occasion support in the home.

You will be a second pair of hands to my mum.


10 hours per week, evening and weekend work is required


£12.00 p/h

Plus 40p mileage allowance


·        Being a second pair of hands if my mum requires assistance get me ready for school

·        Only assisting as and when required and not doing things for me as my mum is my main support

·        In the evenings you will support with some playtime until food is ready. You’ll then bring in the food and ensure I’m settled and eating my food and not throwing it on the floor

·        Personal care and toileting needs as and when required

·        Dressing, undressing and changing my nappy prior to bedtime

·        Social outings on occasion

·        Any other reasonable task


·        Someone who can follow instructions and fulfil the task as required

·        Someone who doesn’t take over when doing a task, you must allow my mum and I to do a task and only help if we ask

·        This job might be demanding at times

·        Work well under pressure

·        Reliable and punctual

·        Respect for confidentiality and working in the home


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.