Please quote job reference MPM1907 on application. Apply now


Personal Assistant


I am a 40 year old man living with my mum in the Tonyrefail area. I’m sociable and enjoy being out and about in the community. I’m energetic and like doing a range of things, for instance I have competed in the Special Olympics in Scotland at swimming. I’m chatty and bright, in fact I did well in school when I was younger.  I’m always busy with something whether its leisure, education, personal interests or work skills at the day centre. I enjoy sport using computers and gardening. 

I have Asperger’s and a learning disability and I am very much capable of doing things for myself like cooking, cleaning and making decisions. I also have ADHD which affects me the most. At times I can lack motivation and need encouragement to do some tasks or activities. At times I lose focus and concentration, maybe wondering off and losing track at the task at hand. I need a personal assistant who will support me and point me in the right direction now and again and give me confidence and sound advice. 

At some point I want to live in a supported living setting, but this is dependent on me maintaining life skills and my mother being assured that I will be safe. 


Most of the support I need is focused on outside activities. Therefore, a driver with their own vehicle is essential.  It may be that activities take place in various places such as the swimming pool, gymnasium, evening or day classes and hospital appointments. The social support I need will take place out in the community depending on where I am going. 


29 hours per week, working a Thursday evening and weekends

Flexibility is essential 


£12.00  per hour with a 40p mileage allowance for travel


·         Being an overall support to me, a mentor and motivator

·         Taking me to and joining in various activities depending on which class I am attending

·         Day trips to places like Ogmore by Sea, walking along the beach followed by a coffee at a local café

·         Reminding me to take my medication

·         Although I am very capable of doing things, I still need someone to give me a little push in the right direction in order to get something done

·         Helping me maintain my bedroom to an acceptable standard, sorting through odds and ends that I can sometimes accumulate, making sure my room is clean and uncluttered

·         Helping me sort through my laundry, reminding me to wash it then fold it and put it away afterwards

·         Rather than doing things for me, I need someone who will encourage me to do it myself

·         Taking me swimming on a Thursday evening

·         Helping me to learn sign language (you don’t need to know it, just help me as I learn)

·         Sometimes attending sign language classes with me (again, you don’t have to learn it, just accompany me to class)

·         Motivating me to be independent with my living and social skills, also supporting me to learn new skills

·         Monitor my behaviour to identify if I’m putting myself at risks


·         Someone who shares my interests and wants to actively engage in the tasks and activities; not just sitting back watching me do something

·         Being proactive in motivating me, gently and kindly prompting me to be active and involved, especially if it appears I’m lacking motivation  

·         By engaging with me in activities will help ensure I get the most out of the activity, with you alongside me I will feel more comfortable and motivated to get the best result

·         A cheerful, confident and out-going person

·         Someone who has a sensitive approach, wanting to help me develop

·         You must be assertive with me if necessary without dictating to me, showing me the right approach

·         Someone who could be flexible with working hours

·         A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home

·         Must be prepared to use your own car in return for mileage allowance

·         A non-smoker is preferred

·         You must be reasonably fit and enjoy swimming


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.

The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  

You will receive appropriate holidays with pay, pro rata of 5.6 weeks.

A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.

A DBS check and references are compulsory prior to starting.

 Apply now