Please quote job reference PM1567 on Application. Apply now

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 10 year old girl living in Graigwen. I like Barbie, Pokemon and my cat Mitten. I enjoy dancing and singing and am quite stereotypically ‘girly’. I love nature and science. I love anything physical and due to having ADHD, I have quite a lot of energy to burn off. 

I am chatty and funny, I am confident but struggle to understand other people and their reactions to me. I am very caring and loyal and loving to the people who look after me, my mum says she’s very proud of me.

I do have meltdowns when I’m overwhelmed, it is important to ensure that I don’t get to that point, however. I like to get my own way and I have an answer for everything. I have to have my hand held when walking around because I tend to run off and have no concept of danger. I am trans and have successful socially transitioned recently. My family feel it is very important for anyone who supports me to be aware of this. They feel that my Personal Assistant should be open minded and understanding of this. I also have Autism and Pica, which means I will put anything in my mouth to eat from wood to shampoo so my Personal Assistant will have to monitor this.

PURPOSE OF JOB

I am looking to employ a Personal Assistant who can support me to gain independence away from the home. I want a PA who can support me and keep me safe at all times.

HOURS OF WORK

I have 5 hours per week to be used mostly on a Monday after school and a Sunday morning, but we can discuss this further at interview.

RATES OF PAY

£11.00 per hour plus mileage for journeys we make together.

TASKS INVOLVED

Supporting me to attend after school activities at Abercynon Sports Centre on a Monday
Keeping me safe at all times
Supporting me to attend Parkrun on a Sunday morning
Suggesting other activities we may do together


TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

Experience with ADHD/Autism and challenging behaviour is desirable but not essential
An upbeat person with a positive approach to life is essential
You must be active and energetic so that you can keep up with me
You must be able to display positive behaviour and responses even to situations that may seem challenging
A responsible person who can show commitment and is reliable
Being able to show kind and compassionate behaviour and verbal responses towards some the negative things I can do
Driver with their own car
Experience of working with lgbtqia+ people, or at least an open mind and good understanding of issues I could potentially face

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.