Please quote job reference PM1831 on application. Apply now


Personal Assistant Casual Role


I am a 94 year old gent living in the Pentre area. Before I retired I worked as an engineer and had my own limited company supporting the NHS with surveys and importer of optical mark reading equipment. I am a born Londoner with a Dutch wife.

I am easy going and take life as it comes, I have good sense of humour sadly was diagnosed in 2015 with Alzheimer’s and am now following the final years (months).  My wife has been caring for me 24/7 fortunately she is much younger however her own health is deteriorating.  I am no longer cognitive now and this is a great burden on my wife.

I can’t turn on TV etc anymore but my wife puts YouTube up and I love watching factories, DIY projects  etc. for hours,  I also

Enjoy listening to music from soul to jazz and classical.  It may make me emotional though because I start remembering things.

I am seeking a PA to assist me around my home and out in the community. I am quite friendly but on the brink of becoming bed/housebound.  I can still shuffle about but you need to hold my hand and guide me from chair to bathroom etc. I try to be very independent but I need a constant support and supervision because I don’t know what I am doing or should be doing.


To assist me with meals and drinks (I forget to eat and drink) we rarely go out for food, coffee and light household chores around my home. We have a cleaner but it’s a large building.  You need to be able to cope with stairs as we live on the 3rd floor.  The stairs kept me fit it is only in the last few months I have started to use our stair lifts.  You need to take the pressure of my wife who is waiting for a knee operation she never gets any free time to herself. So you would be helping both of us.


Home and out in the community


26 hours a week to be worked flexibly.


£12.00 per hour


·        To assist with medical appointments

·        Sweeping the garden

·        Domestic tasks, such as

- Changing the bed, dusting, keep my room clean.

- To help prepare light meals


·        I would like a calm, softly spoken person

·        Good Communicator and understands what Alzheimer’s is.

·     Someone that understands that my memory is impaired but I am very intelligent and no fool!

·      When I wake up I often don’t know reality and remember the war, or the past.  I suffer from hallucination and fabulations my wife will support you.

·        A person who is friendly, dependable and punctual.

·        A person with a positive commitment to this kind of work.

·        A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone’s home.

You must have an up to date Enhanced DBS so you could start and be paid from day one if possible. If not it may delay your salary.


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given. The post is subject to satisfactory references and a enhanced DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK

Thank you.