Please quote job reference PM1976 on application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 24 year old young lady living in Taff’s Well. I have Cerebral Palsy quadriplegia and scoliosis of the spine which leaves me with limited upper limb strength. My concentration can sometimes be poor, as well as having weak co-ordination and spatial awareness. I use a wheelchair to get around - both a foldable manual and motorised one. During the day I experience fatigue.

I describe myself as a bubbly, enthusiastic, compassionate and fun person. I am very social although my opportunities to socialise are limited. I really want to expand my social circle, explore the community and step out of my comfort zone. I hope the PA I appoint can support me to achieve this because I know by going out and developing a routine I will feel better within myself and it will help alleviate my depression.  

I can do pretty much all things on my own but do need support from time to time to ensure I am safe.

I am hoping to go back to college where I will learn art and design. I love Disney, art and drawing so I’d love to be able to combine my interest into learning animation.

PLACE OF WORK

There will be the odd occasion where you will support me at home but this is mainly a community based job. 

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

The primary focus of this job is to support me to broaden my social engagement. You will support me to access new activities.

HOURS OF WORK

5 hours per week. Days and times are flexible. 

RATE OF PAY

£12.00 per hour

40p mileage allowance, per mile when I am with you in the car.

TASKS INVOLVED

·        Supporting me to access local activities

·        Assisting me to prepare meals at home

·        Using public transport with me

·        Attending new places and activities of interest with me

·        Helping me to learn new life skills, especially independent living skills so that I can continue to live on my own

·        Assisting me to set a routine and stick to it

·        Helping me to navigate busy crowds; when I’m in my wheelchair it can become overwhelming that people do not allow me space or cut me off

·        Supporting me with correspondence and matters relating to my tenancy

·        Folding and putting my wheelchair in and out of your car

·        Using bus or train on occasion

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·        You must be flexible and able to work different days/times as required

·        Preferably female

·        An enthusiastic and friendly person is important

·        Car driver and owner is essential – business class insurance on your car is required. My wheelchair must be able to fit in the boot.

·        You will be proactive and be willing to get involved in things that I suggest

·        Someone who has a good understanding of disability and how it affects me; be able to see things from my point of view

·        I would like my PA to be young at heart and share my interests

·        Someone who is bubbly and has an enthusiasm for life

·        You must be comfortable using public transport, your travel on this will be free

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. I will be your legal employer. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you. Business class insurance on your car is essential.

 

 

Thank you.