Quote reference PM1992 on application Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

 

Personal Assistant

 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 14 year old girl living with my parents and sister in the Llantrisant area. I have Autistic Spectrum Disorder and learning difficulties. My disability means I have a great need for routine as I can sometimes get upset and anxious. I get quite claustrophobic and really don't like loud noises or large crowds. I like quiet places with lots of space. It takes me time to process things and transition from activity to activity or place to place, so I need someone who is calm and patient to be with me. I do not liked to be rushed. I can communicate my basic needs and say a few words and phrases (some are clear, some are not) but have difficulties in understanding questions and conversing. Although I often need my own space, I do sometimes like some sensory input.

At home I like to spend time on my iPad and relax. I sometimes enjoy fiddling with my sensory toys. I Like to go out in the car and look out the window at the environment as t pass. I sometimes like going to the park. I have no sense of danger so I need someone to watch me at all times when I'm outside, particularly around road safety and water. When I am outside, I can take time to walk and transition from place to place or place to the car, so time and patience is often needed. I don't like being too close to other members of the public so it is important I always have my own personal space. I occasionally enjoy swimming.

PURPOSE OF JOB

My parents are looking to employ two personal assistants to help and support me to go out into the community and undertake social and leisure activities. This would involve travelling to the location of the activity in your vehicle, supervising me and ensuring my safety whist I'm there . I require support with all aspects of being out and about. Sometimes, the role may involve supervising me at home so my parents can leave the house to run errands.

PLACE OF WORK

Home and out in the community/ socialising

 

HOURS OF WORK

3 hours per week

 

RATE OF PAY

£12.50 per hour mileage to be discussed.

 

TASKS INVOLVED

·         Supporting me to go out and about.

·         Supervising me at all times to make sure am safe.

·         Help me find new activities and places to go.

·         Take me to the park.

·         Someone to supervise me at home if my parents are not in the house.

·         Help me access my snacks/food/drink.

·         Personal care.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·         Driver with access to own vehicle.

·         Must be a non smoker

·         Someone vigilant, present in the moment and pays attention at all times.

·         Someone friendly, approachable and has patience.

·         Someone punctual and reliable as routine is very important to me.

·         Someone quite active and energetic

·         Flexible with hours of work.

·         Positive approach to the job.

·         Confident and able to work on your own initiative.

·         Respectful of other people's homes and property.

·         Someone who shares my interests and can suggest things to do.

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.