Please Quote PM2014 on application Apply Now



I am a 13 year old boy living in Gilfach Goch with my family and lots of pets. I am fun and bubbly with lots of energy. I have epilepsy, autism and glut 1 deficiency. Glut 1 deficiency means I have involuntary movements of the arms and legs and am unable to stand. This can last 30 minutes to 3 hours. 

My way of communication is to through pointing or using visual cards – I am non-verbal. I don’t cope well with loud noises; they make me upset and emotional. 

Sometime I have absent seizures where I stare into space for a few seconds and can’t respond. Other times my head drops and eyes roll back. Initially I’m confused afterwards but quickly return to myself. 

Another type of seizure I have is grand mal seizures where you’ll notice a big change in my behaviour before it happens. Normally I am a kind, caring and fun boy but then I have a massive burst of energy, hit out and not listen, laugh at everything and not understand I am doing something wrong. Grand mal seizures are my eyes rolling back, whole or part of my body shaking, I can froth from the mouth or be sick. The seizure lasts 30-40 seconds and I will be emotional and confused after so need lots of comfort until I fall asleep. 

Some of my favourite activities are watching TV, messy play, going for short walks, going to soft play centres and number and letter activities. I enjoy water based activities such as swimming and playing with bubbles. My favourite characters are Woody from Toy Story and the Iron Giant.


To take me to activities and allow some respite for my parents.


3 hours per week term-time / 6 hours per week school holidays


£12.00 per hour

Mileage of 40p per mile


·         Social and community based outings

·         Ensuring I am safe at all times and taking appropriate action if I am unwell

·         Getting involved in activities with me

·         Fetching me from my house to take me to an activity and bringing me home after



·         Someone who is understanding of my medical needs and can manage any issues I may experience when we are together

·         You must have plenty of patience

·         You must be reliable, caring and friendly

·         Respect for confidentiality and working in the home

·         Car driver with access to car, taking me to and from activities

·         You must be able to give instructions in a basic and easy to understand way

·         Someone who enjoys working with children

·         Willing to do both indoor and outdoor activities depending on what I want to do



Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.


 Apply Now