Please quote job reference PM388 on application. Apply now


Personal Assistant


I am a confident, sociable and chatty lady in my fifties living at home with my parents in the Tonteg area of Rhondda Cynon Taf. My main disabilities are epilepsy and a slight learning disability; I also have hydrocephalus which has not affected me for approximately 40 years.

The seizures I experience are semi partial seizures and patterns/auras in my eyes.

I enjoy my independence and making my own decisions but because of these disabilities my short term memory is poor and occasionally I need prompting or reminding to do things, for example remembering my purse when going out or putting the alarm on.

I have lots of interests, I’m computer literate and like working on my lap top. I enjoy other peoples company, being out and about shopping, swimming and going for meals.

I also attend the gym to do gentle exercises and monitor my progress but  my personal assistant is not required to participate.


The main purpose of the job is to provide me with support and encouragement when I go out socially and to ensure I am safe at all times. This will help me be more independent and increase my confidence to pursue my hobbies and interests.


In the local area of Rhondda Cynon Taff


There are 4 hours a week available to be worked on a Wednesday 11am to 3pm.

There is some flexibility with these times.


£11.44 per hour

0.40 p per mile for mileage


·       Making sure I am safe at all times

·       Taking me out in your own car for which mileage will be paid.

·       Taking me swimming, taking me to the gym, going to the cinema, shopping or other activities that I may want to do.

·       Reminding/prompting me to do things e.g. taking my purse or telephone when I go out, locking the door after me.

·       Going with me for the occasional meal to a local restaurant/pub. 

·       Encouraging me try new things or go to new places.

·       Contacting my parents/doctors etc if I am not well.



·       A friendly, bubbly person.

·       Preferably a non smoker.

·       Experience of epilepsy or first aid training is an advantage or someone who is willing to learn/attend courses in the near future to be able to assist me if I have a seizure.

·       Someone who is confident and calm to be able to assist in these situations.

·       Someone who respects my independence and allows me to make my own decisions.

·        A car driver/owner who is willing to use their own car to take me places.

·       Someone who is willing to participate in some of the activities I enjoy doing e.g. swimming.

·        A person who is trustworthy and respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home.


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid 2 weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given. The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK

Thank you