Please quote reference PM577 when applying

 Apply Now 

JOB DESCRIPTION

PERSONAL ASSISTANT – Job Share

ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 67 year old woman living in Pontypridd with my family. I have a Learning Disability which affects my day to day life and as a result I require support with various things, such as my mobility which is decreasing.

My interests include socialising, shopping, meals out, ten pin bowling, music and chatting away. I love car rides down to Porthcawl and Ogmore.

My family and friends are very important to me. I am an outgoing and bubbly person who likes to have banter with others. It is important for me to follow my routines and if they are broken I can become very upset and verbal.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

As my Personal Assistant you will work closely with me and my family. Your role is to support me outside my home. You will provide respite for my family and give me an opportunity to access activities independently from my family.

HOURS OF WORK

45.5 hours per week to be used flexibly (Mon-Fri 4 pm- 8 pm. Weekends either day or evening hours). These hours will be shared between a few PAs, so even if you can pick up one shift a week for a few hours you will be considered.

Evening and weekend work is a requirement for this post, so flexibility is essential.

Please indicate on your application how many hours you’re available to work each week. 

RATE OF PAY

£11.40 per hour

40p mileage allowance

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

·        Accompanying me to activities and events within the community

·        Actively being involved in an encouraging my social engagement

·        Ensuring my safety at all times

·        Taking me out in your car

·        Dropping me to  and collecting me from Day Centre

·        Supporting me to get in and out of my wheelchair safely

·        Please note: once a relationship has been formed your duties will then include all aspects of personal care

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·        Must be trustworthy and confident

·        Needs to be flexible and reliable

·        Someone who works on their own initiative

·        Someone who is willing to understand my disability and how it affects both me and my family

·        You must be proactive and get me involved with different things

·        Someone who respects my privacy, confidentiality and dignity

·        A car owner/driver that holds a clean driving licence and willing to use their own car for work

·        Boot space needed to fit my wheelchair

·        You will be comfortable and confident to provide personal care support after a few months

ABOUT THE JOB

This will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number that needs to be submitted.  During the first instance, a trial period is necessary.  Wages will be paid on a monthly basis on payslips provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holiday and holiday pay. You will be required to attend any training which may be necessary for the job. You may be required to complete an enhanced police check. Business class insurance on your car is compulsory.