JOB DESCRIPTION 

Part-Time Personal Assistant

 

TO APPLY PLEASE SUBMIT A CV AND RELEVANT EXPERIENCE TO [email protected] or 07587108522     

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I’m a lady in my early 90’s, living in Penarth, looking for professionally minded, caring Personal Assistant to be flexible to support my independence whilst my daughter is away on business and we need a little helping hand to support on a regular base. 

My daughter rightfully describes me as a great lady living in a wonderful home. I am educated, articulate, intelligent, fully able, smart and delightful. I have slight physical challenges with an arthritic hip; it is very painful and I am still trying to adjust to the right medication to manage the pain. Due to macular degeneration I only have 10 percent of vision. Other than that, my cognition is spot on.

HOURS OF WORK

12 hours per week, made up of 4 x 3 hour blocks

Weekdays and weekends which can be flexible to suit.

RATES OF PAY

£12.00 per hour

Mileage to be discussed in interview. 

TASKS INVOLVED

·        Once a week deep cleaning the bathroom and kitchen

·        Maintaining a clean home; dusting, laundry, vacuuming etc

·        Assisting me to prep food in the home, for example vegetables for soup, occasionally taking on the duty of preparing a full meal

·        You will provide support to get fully dressed and assisting me to maintain a high standard of appearance

·        Prompting me to take my daily medication

·        As time goes on your duties may become more ‘hands on’ and more might be required of you

·        Potential social support for example shopping trips to Penarth or John Lewis in Cardiff or dropping me at the local day centre

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·        A gentle approach to providing support and first looking to build a rapport with me before getting into the ‘care’ side of my support

·        Flexible with your days and times to accommodate my varying weekly requirements

·        Professional attitude and well-presented

·        Someone who has great initiative and is observant as to the level of help I may need from one day to the next

·        A sensible person with a high standard of work ethic

·        You will understand that I wish to maintain my independence as far as possible so you won’t ‘take over’ but be a gentle hand of support

·        Someone who can act as both a companion and carer whilst maintaining professional boundaries to the highest standard

·        Car owner driver is desirable but not essential as most of my requirements are within the home for the majority of my needs

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid 4 weekly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.