Please quote job reference VOG609 on application.

Apply now

PERSONAL ASSISTANT

JOB DESCRIPTION

SOMETHING ABOUT ME

Hello, I am an elderly lady, a Lancashire Lass, who is living in Penarth with my daughter and son-in-law.  I would love you to join my team if you are committed to being a PA and can offer me up to 14 hours of your time. These are currently needed on Thursday and Friday but it would be a great help if you had some flexibility to cover my other PAs annual leave.  You will support me during the day, when my family are at work.

I am 86 years young and after an active life, I now find myself managing the challenges of Alzheimer’s and arthritis. I’m still very sociable and enjoy talking to people. I need your help to keep occupied, as find not knowing things can be frustrating and saddens me. I’m enjoying being back out in my local community, needing an arm to help me feel safe when walking.

I love music and sing with the Forget-Me-Not choir when I can. I have piano lessons on a Saturday at home and would be interested in being involved with musical activities. I previously made all my clothes, knitting and sewing. I like to colour and do jigsaw puzzles. I like having a cuppa tea and cakes at the local café. I was a regular church go-er before COVID and would love to start attending again, if only for daytime concerts or just to sit and enjoy the setting. My aim each day is to have fun and laugh and live the best life I can. If you are interested in finding out more, please contact DEWIS and they will link you with my daughter.

PLACE OF WORK

At home and out in the local community

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

You will be joining me, alongside my daughter and son-in-law who provide my care 24/7 and help me stay as active and independent as possible. You will need a lot of patience and a calm approach to helping me understand what’s next. You will help me with personal care which can mean providing me with some physical help as well as guidance. I need to you to plan activities for me in the day and spot when I’m getting bored and need a change. I like to go out for a walk, and need your help to know where to go. My aim is to stay at home and you play a vital part in helping this happen.

HOURS OF WORK

14 permanent hours currently required on a Thursday and Friday. Currently my PAs and family cover holidays for each other and any support you could offer here would be greatly appreciated.

RATE OF PAY

£12.50 per hour

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Support me with personal care including showering, toilet, dressing
  • Sitting, chatting and providing company around the house.
  • Listening to music, watching musicals, colouring and doing puzzles.
  • Playing games such as dominoes and snap
  • Dining out in the local area.
  • Ensuring that I am safe at all times.
  • Helping me to maintain my skills in some domestic duties and accompanying me to the local shops.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Experience of dementia (personal or professional) or experience in care
  • Mature by nature
  • Someone who is calm and patient
  • Someone who is positive and encouraging
  • Has an interest in craft, dancing, singing and music.
  • Enjoys eating out
  • Non smoker
  • Driver with own car and business class insurance.

ABOUT THE JOB

Employment is subject to standard processes including PAYE and contributions to income tax and national insurance. Employment will be offered pending satisfactory references and DBS check. I can offer you a 6-month trial period to begin with. Wages will be paid by 4 weekly BACS transfer. You will receive appropriate holidays, holiday pay and access to a pension scheme if required.