Please quote job reference VOG713 on application. Apply now


Personal Assistant  


I’m a 28 year old man with learning disabilities (due to chromosome 6Q terminal deletion) and epilepsy. I am quiet when I first meet new people and am generally reluctant to use my voice to communicate with strangers. However once I get to know people I’m able to make myself understood and can speak and understand Welsh and English. I live at home with my Welsh speaking family and attend Vale Plus in Llantwit Major on weekdays until 3.30. I would like a PA who can pick me up from Vale Plus and take me on car rides to participate in activities that I enjoy such as indoor bowling and crazy golf. I enjoy eating, particularly crisps, so going for walks and riding a tricycle is good for me and helps my balance though I need someone to be alongside in case I trip. I can be very stubborn when asked to do things by my parents, but this has not generally been the case with a PA or at Vale Plus. I enjoy watching films, listening to music, television (funny stuff mainly), playing with toy cars, nerf gun and playing computer games like sonic on my ipad and wii. I like to be helpful and have a keen sense of humour so can be quite mischievous once I get to know you.    


At home and out in the community.


To support me out in the community and encourage me to be active and take part in activities that I enjoy particularly when my parents are in work.  


16 hours a week in total, a job share will be considered if there is more than one suitable applicant.

Afternoons 3.30pm to 6.30pm Monday to Friday with potential for one longer day depending on the activity.

Willing to work on a weekend occasionally

No Bank Holiday working will be required 


£12.75 per hour plus mileage allowance of 40p a mile


·        Picking me up at 3.30 Monday to Friday from Llantwit Major to take part in activities and taking me home later

·        Using your car to take me to places I enjoy and encouraging me to make choices but sometimes choosing for me

·        Supporting me when out in the community or at home in bad weather

·        Encourage my independence, living and social skills

·        Ensuring my safety at all times

·        Providing guidance and supporting me as needed with my personal care

·        Encouraging me to exercise 


·        Patient, kind and friendly with a sense of humour

·        Must be sensible, trustworthy and reliable

·        Driver with own vehicle and full UK driver’s licence

·        A proactive person with their own ideas of suitable activities as they get to know what I like

·        Ability to speak or understand Welsh would be an advantage but not essential

·        Able to administer emergency Buccal in the event of a seizure (which have not occurred recently) and call emergency services immediately (training can be provided for this).


This will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance of up to six months. The wage will be paid every four weeks on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay. This post is subject to an enhanced police check (DBS) and training to administer Buccal in the event of a seizure.