Please quote job reference VOG943 on application. Apply now


Personal Assistant


I am a 79-year-old lady living in the Barry area of Vale of Glamorgan with my husband. I was a medical secretary and thoroughly enjoyed my work at Llandough/Sully Hospital.  I am caring, sociable and can be quite chatty.

I enjoy going out on walks around the local area, visiting the theatre, watching sport (am looking forward to the Rugby World Cup next month), baking, gardening, colouring, meeting people and listening to music. Westlife is one of my favourite groups. Hope that won’t put you off applying.  I really enjoy doing creative things

I am diagnosed with dementia and receive a lot of support from my family.

I would like a PA who could provide a well-earned break to my husband in the evenings to take me out for a drive in the car, go on a short walk or undertake mindful activities.  Like everyone, I have better and worse days depending on how I am feeling.


To help support me get out into the community, keep me active with mindful activities, a drive in the car or a short walk and cup of tea.

To provide my family with some respite and keep me company in the home when I do not want to go out.

To keep me safe.


I have 10 hours per week available which would ideally be used in the evenings between 6:00pm – 8:00pm

The ideal days would be Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday but there is flexibility in the days of work. (Mon would be 6:30 – 8:00).

I would consider job share for the right candidates.


£13.70 per hour

Mileage will be paid where applicable


·        Going on walks in the local area. This can be around Barry Island or the Knap. But any new walks I would be open to.

·        Generally taking me out into the community. This can be shopping or to cafes for example.

·        Ensuring my safety while we are out.

·        Going on drives together.

·        Doing activities in the house such as colouring and baking.

·        Thinking of new things we could do together.

·        Actively keeping me engaged.


·        Someone who is positive and brings a good energy when around me.

·        A patient and understanding person.

·        Someone who can remain calm and happy regardless of the situation.

·        A reliable and punctual person.

·        A person who can go with the flow and improvise a bit when needed to keep a positive energy.

·       A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home.

·        Someone confident in working with someone who has dementia.


This will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period of six months will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid four-weekly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay. This post is subject to an enhanced police check (DBS) and training may be required if identified by the employer.