Please quote job reference VOG956 on application. Apply now 

JOB DESCRIPTION

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am an 11 year old boy living with my family in the area of Llandough. I am very chatty, funny and can be very single minded. I really enjoy helping my parents where I can with cooking and would like to be able to work on this more. I have good morals and loves discussing politics, nature and the state of the world.

I am Autistic with Pathological Demand Avoidance (PDA) this is where I may avoid demands or situations that trigger my anxiety and if I have a sensory overload. Other things could include disrupt to my routine, transitioning from one activity to another, and activities/events that I don’t see the point of or have any interest in.

I may refuse, withdraw, ‘shutdown’ or escape in order to avoid these things.

Helpful approaches include addressing sensory issues, although I am quite good at self-regulating and will remove myself as I am becoming more self-aware. Helping me adjust to new situations to a predictable routine, I know what I like, I am very black and white, and I don’t like surprises. I prefer having plenty of notice about any changes and it is always good for someone supporting me to be able to accept that avoiding some things is perfectly acceptable.

I have been out of education for 2 years. I have a dog called Dexter who I love. I have an Xbox and really enjoy gaming with my dad and one of my biggest things I enjoy spending my pocket money on is Lego.

PURPOSE OF JOB

To spend time with me and to give my parents some respite. Building a relationship with me at home and helping build confidence

PLACE OF WORK

At home my address in Llandough

HOURS OF WORK

3 hours per week 

Wednesday or Friday 12:00-15:00

RATE OF PAY

£13.50 per hour 

TASKS INVOLVED

·         To meet me in my space and allow me to guide the situation

·         Building a relationship with me

·         Bit of gaming

·         Prepare a simple meal and support me to prepare this also

·         Someone who would enjoy indoor activities like a nerf gun battle

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·         Someone who is open to offering support in a flexible way

·         Able to adapt to situations changing rapidly with humour and understanding

·         Someone who is open to building a relationship based on collaboration and connection rather than using an authoritarian style

·         Not easily offended

·         Clear and confident with explanations with routine

·         Someone who is consistent and on time

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. Webinars and training materials to gain an understanding of both PDA and collaborative parenting styles will be made available. will be made available The wage will be paid four weekly and appropriate holiday pay given. The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK

Thank you                                      

 Apply now