Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title (required): Ms.
Town (required): Mountain Ash
County (required): RCT
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I am educated to A level standard. I have worked for a Local Council for 36 years in an administrative role. As a part-time role on weekends, I was previously employed for just over a year as a Direct Payments Personal Assistant to an elderly lady with advanced Alzheimers Disease, incontinence and mobility issues. My role was to assist with personal care, meal preparation and a sitting service for the primary carer. Since October 2022, I have provided support for a lady with Cerebral Palsy for 14 hours every Sunday. This involves domestic tasks, personal care, caring for her dog, meal preparation and general conversation/company.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): Good communication Respect Compassion Patience Empathy Self motivation Approachable and a positive, cheerful attitude Attention to detail when dealing with paperwork and medication Flexibility and a commitment to provide consistent care
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I believe that, for a person with a disability, a sense of independence helps to build self-confidence and to feel more empowered, positive and fulfilled in life. The role of Personal Assistant is to support this by providing practical and emotional support, both at home and within the community.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I am interested in providing support for anyone who wishes to take a more active role in society (i.e. social activities and hobbies), or to provide respite and support for the main carer/relative. I am a supportive, patient and positive person and find the role of Personal Assistant very rewarding.
What are your hobbies/interests?: TV Holidays Music Swimming Bowling Cinema Walking my dog
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes
Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday evenings (after 5.30/6.00 p.m.)
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: I work full-time during the week and finish at 5.00 p.m. I also work all day on Sundays.
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/
Please provide details if necessary: I have a current Enhanced DBS certificate (dated 2022), with no cautions or convictions.
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes
I consent to the above (required): Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Local to Mountain Ash preferable (Cynon Valley - Abercynon to Aberdare)
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: Approximately 5
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday PM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday PM/Thursday PM/Friday PM/
Further Information: I have access to a car, with business insurance. I currently have 3 penalty points on my licence for driving 34 mph in a 30 mph zone in 2020.