Title (required): Mrs.
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I am a level 3 qualified teaching assistant I have worked across all ages in primary education from nursery to year 6. I have predominantly worked providing intervention to individuals or small groups as well as classroom support. Since September 2022 I have been a full time 1:1 teaching assistant for an amazing non-verbal autistic boy in reception. In this role I help him to access learning, adapt activities, enjoy stimulating sensory activities, support him to build relationships, use tools and strategies to develop communication and do all I can every day to help him reach his potential and be happy, even on the more challenging days. I have several CPD qualifications including, Team Teach, level 2 safeguarding, first aid, autism awareness (from the open university and National Autistic Society), mental health first aid, phonics and child development. Before my career as a teaching assistant, I managed a children’s role play centre, organising and leading activities and groups for children from birth to primary age These included baby groups, baby sensory classes, children’s discos, seasonal events, art classes, toddler music and movement amongst others. Before working with children my background is retail management and I worked for Thorntons the chocolate shop. I have a level 2 ILM, coaching qualifications and training. I have 9 GCSE’s grades A and B, 3 A ‘levels B,C and D, and an Honours degree in fine art. I am also a mum to a wonderful 9-year-old son 😊
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): It is important to show respect, to get to know the person to understand how they express themselves and build a mutually respectful relationship. It’s important to develop trust, understanding and friendship. To pay attention to their interests, opinions and concerns and engage, as well as sharing your own and learn from each other. Its important to have a sense of humour to not always take everything seriously and have fun, laughter is a great medicine for all. It is important to learn any specific needs from that person so you can help them to access situations and environments, make adaptions and provide the best and most relevant support. It’s important to be patient, calm not easily stressed and be able to adapt. It’s important to keep them safe and help them feel comfortable enough to develop their independence. It’s important to be reliable and committed.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I am a friendly positive person who treats people with respect and love getting to know new people their interests and their character, everyone is unique which is what makes meeting new people so rewarding and interesting. I love learning from others what interests them and sharing with them what I like and building a trusting and mutually respectful relationship. By developing a relationship, I can start to identify when an individual may need some support to gain enjoyment and access situations or if they can be more independent and I can step back, always with their safety, happiness and comfort as my primary concern. I work 1:1 with a non-verbal autistic child full time in a primary school and have experience of working in a fun engaging and sensory way to help them develop confidence, curiosity, communication and independence. My job has allowed me to extend my knowledge of some of the strategies and communication tools used to support autism such as PECS, the curiosity approach, intensive interaction, sensory play, sensory circuits, engaging special interests and working on transitions. I recognise that sometimes accessing situations, environments and activities can sometimes be challenging but will remain calm, considerate and patient aiming to create a stress-free experience. I am creative both practically and in the way I think and will use this to find fun and interesting ways to engage and adapt situations.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I love meeting new people and learning from them. I think everyone should be able to access and enjoy what our communities and country have to offer, and it gives me happiness to know I can contribute to someone being able to experience this. I want to feel that what I do makes a difference no matter how small it may be. I want to share my skills and experience and learn new ones. I particularly want to help children and young people thrive and reach their potential.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I love being outside in nature, I enjoy walking particularly in forests and like birds and animals. I love the beach and find the sea calming. I am a creative person have a degree in fine art and have run children’s craft and art activities, creativity is part of me, I enjoy drawing, painting, colouring, creating and using creative ways to solve and adapt things. I like visual things. I like reading mainly fiction. I enjoy a good film with a bag of crisps.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes
Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): I work full time in a school term time 8.30- 4pm. My husband works shifts so I am available after 4.30 on varying weekdays dependent on his shifts but will always have at least 2 days available after 4.30pm Mon-Fri term time. I have free time on the weekends but the specific times, will vary again dependant on my husbands shift. I have a variety of days and times available in the school holidays, I dont work during the school holidays. I am going to Australia for the first 3 weeks of the summer holidays this is a one off trip to visit my sister.
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: My availability is dependent on my husbands shifts but I will always have availability after 4.30pm and on weekends the days and times would vary. My husband gets his shifts 3 weeks in advance so I could plan dates and times and I am very reliable. I would really like the opportunity to work with you :).
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes
I consent to the above (required): Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Caerphilly
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 3-5 term time possibly more in the holidays
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Tuesday PM/Wednesday PM/Thursday PM/Friday PM/Saturday PM/Sunday PM /
Further Information: