Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title: Mrs
Address 2: Bryncae
Town (required): PONTYCLUN
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I Am a 65 years young lady who has 40 years nursing experience in various settings. Recently since taking early retirement I have been employed as a kitchen assistant at a care home, and more recently as a carer for 2 ladies through Dewis cil. Unfortunately one of the ladies no longer requires care and therefore I am looking at additional hours. I am experienced in personal care and am a driver with my own car. I assist my other lady in day to day activities during the week and attend an art and craft group with her on a Monday morning. We also go on outings, shopping, and attend concerts.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): I am a caring person and understand the need for patience when dealing with individuals and getting to know the person well and understanding their needs. Treating the person as an individual is very important and assisting the person to explore different experiences and enjoy their life. Good communication is important and the need to understand verbal and non verbal signs is also important.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): The person needs to be treated as an individual and be able to make choices in their life. It is important to understand the individuals needs and interests and while listening to their needs, also guide them to make safe choices. It is important to assist them in activities and to assist them to be as independent as possible. Providing information on new activities that may be of interest for the person to experience and to assist in making safe choices can widen their circle of activities and grow their confidence in meeting new people and doing new activities.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I have a history of over 40 years in care work. I enjoy meeting new people and getting to know them. I take the opportunity of talking to people and finding out about them and finding out what they like it dislike.I take time with people and feel it is important to work with them to enjoy life and be as independent as possible.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I enjoy reading, crossword puzzles and painting and attend an art and craft morning with my other lady I care for. I also like walking and swimming, although Ive not been swimming much recently. I also enjoy cooking and have recently had to learn to cook gluten free meals.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): No
Do you speak any other languages? (required): No
Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): Available early mornings before 9.30 and evenings after 4 pm. Free all day on Wednesday and weekends
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): No
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: Only sickness would prevent me from attending a shift but would aim to give as much notice as possible
Do you have portable DBS (which has been paid for and renewed for the current year)? (required): No/
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes
I consent to the above (required): Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Pencoed, Llanharran, Llanharry, pontyclun,Pontypridd, Talbot Green
How many hours of work can you offer per week? (required): 10 depending on shift times
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Friday Overnight/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /