Quote ref: CDFKB on application form Apply now

Personal Care Assistant/PA

About me:

Hello, I’m Kate, I employ Personal Care Assistants to help me go about my everyday life. I live in Cardiff and am studying Music at Cardiff University. I am looking for trustworthy, caring people to help me reach my potential.

I am a 24-year-old female who enjoys music and living life like someone my age should! I have Functional Neurological Disorder, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, seizures, and a variety of other health conditions. These have a profound effect on my ability to carry out daily activities at a pace a healthy person does. I experience chronic pain and fatigue and I therefore use a wheelchair when I need to. My mental health has been strongly impacted by my chronic illness and disability, meaning I require a strong support system for my emotional wellbeing. My Personal Care Assistants play a key role. My health is highly unpredictable and can vary from day to day, some days I require much more help than others.

Rate of pay: £12 per hour; £18 per hour on bank holidays.

Hours of work: 12-hour shifts on a rota basis. Full-time (36 hours plus a week); Part-time (12 hours plus a week) and zero-hour contracts available, determined by your preferences.

Start date: As soon as possible.

Who is this role best suited to?

Applications are welcomed from everyone, no matter your background or experience. No experience is necessary, all training is given. This role is ideal for, but not limited to, students looking for extra work, or healthcare professionals looking for some extra or full-time hours. The role is also suitable for those looking for full-time or part-time care work with or without experience.

What does the role include?

· Supporting me with student life at university, both educationally and with my health and wellbeing

· Ensuring my social life is as active as possible and ensuring I am not isolated.

· Caring for me when I have seizures.

· Personal care when required.

· Monitoring my overall health

· Providing emotional support for my mental health conditions

· Advocating for me at medical appointments

· Assistance with cooking, cleaning and laundry.

The successful candidate(s) will:

· Be reliable and committed to supporting me.

· Have a flexible approach – providing the care and support I require when I need it and understand the need for flexibility when unpredictable situations occur.

· Be physically able to carry out necessary moving and handling tasks and be able to bend and kneel to clamp my wheelchair into my car.

· Be able to react calmly and confidently to emergency situations – e.g. seizures

· Be able to support me with my mental health difficulties without being personally affected.

· Have a good sense of humor and a fun personality!

· Have respect for my privacy and confidentiality.

· Hold a manual driving license and be comfortable driving my wheelchair accessible vehicle long distances and in cities – I love a road trip!

· Be a non-smoker.

· Preferably be female due to the nature of the role.

The successful candidate(s) will be available to cover occasional staff sickness at short notice.

Successful applicants will be subject to satisfactory references and enhanced DBS check.

All training will be provided.