Please quote job reference MPM034 when applying  Apply Now



I am a 50 year old gentleman living with my family in the Beddau area of Rhondda Cynon Taf. As a result of a road traffic accident, I sustained severe head injuries causing brain damage which has left me disabled. It has had major effects on my life and my parents’ lives in a number of ways.  Due to the level of care I need, I have lived with my mother and father in our family home which has been adapted for me.  Amongst the aids I use, are a wheelchair for mobility and a hoist for transfers. 

Prior to my accident, I worked as a mechanic and I had a keen interest in rugby.  I still enjoy watching sport on T.V. especially rugby and football.  I also enjoy watching ‘soaps’, some comedies and wild life programmes.

I am talkative with my parents and other members of the family (they say I have a wicked sense of humour).  I take time to get used to new carers, and I may be withdrawn when I first meet new people.  I can become frustrated from time to time with my care and my situation and the fact that I am sometimes unable to express myself fully. This is a result of my injury.


The main purpose of the job is to provide me with daily support in the evening and once a month on a Saturday.  This will supplement the care I already get from my personal assistants and family.  I require considerable help with all aspects of personal care and personal hygiene in most cases with two people (double-handling). Besides personal care, the job also entails a commitment to trying to improve my skills which have been damaged by the accident.  We have worked out a programme of tasks which I’d like my personal assistants to help me with in the form of encouragement and instruction. The injury has meant that I have had to start to learn things all over again and so, in some areas, what appear to be even the simplest of things can be challenges to me.


£12.10 per hour Weekdays

£12.60 per hour Weekends



There are 9.5 hours per week (pro-rata) available.

Tuesday & Thursday 6pm – 10pm

Plus 1 Saturday per month 10 am - 4pm


·         Working with me as his other personal assistant e.g. one-to-one work, talking with me & supporting me in various tasks

·         Supporting me with an activity

·         Supervising and assisting with daily routines e.g. writing, reading, crosswords, games and going outside on fine days

·         Putting me on a tilt table to build up weight-bearing and balance

·         Putting me back to bed in the afternoon, this will involve another person helping

·         Transfers using a hoist from wheelchair to bed

·         When going back to bed, I may need washing, or a change

·         I may need personal care regarding bowels, if a problem arises 

·         Personal care incorporating re-positioning in bed, washing, perhaps bathing, etc.

·         Providing drinks and meals as required, in either afternoon or evening shift

·         Some light housework e.g. ensuring my room is kept clean and tidy and my washing to be placed in the washing machine as required.



·   Someone with experience in assisting with personal care

·   A person with a positive commitment to this kind of work

·   A patient person prepared to try to understand the frustrations I feel

·   A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home

·   A person with a friendly, easy-going manner

·   A person who finds the regular times suitable to their lifestyle

·   Someone who is adaptable and flexible would be an advantage

·   Someone who could provide extra hours on occasions would be an advantage

·   A person who will motivate me

·   An advantage if the person has had experience of working with someone with acquired brain injury but not essential

Driver essential as I live quite far from a bus route 



The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid on a four weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

 Apply Now