Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title (required): Ms.
Town (required): Barry
County (required): Vale of Glamorgan
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): My back ground is in nursing, and for over 30 years worked as a district nurse, the majority of the time being a team leader. Following retirement from district nursing I worked privately with my first recommendation coming from a GP in Llantwit Major, whose mother I looked after. The people I help are mainly elderly often with dementia and some are end of life care.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): Firstly I think kindness, understanding and patience are essential. A sense of humour can be helpful and resourcefulness useful, with adaptability to recognise the clients’ needs, preferences and personal likes and dislikes.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): My past experience in district nursing and my more recent experience in helping people on a more individual basis has given me a sound base regarding care delivery tailored to an individual’s requirements, which also fit in with family dynamics.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I like having the time to work on a “ one to one “ relationship, facilitating a meaningful and appropriate arrangement which fulfils the person’s needs.
What are your hobbies/interests?: 18 months ago I adopted a greyhound rescue dog, and although not a hobby she is a big part of my life. I like to garden and read and am teaching myself the ekelali, whilst also having piano lessons from basics.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes
Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): I can do 3-4 hour shifts during the daytime, but could also do overnight work.
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: It is important that I plan in advance
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes
I consent to the above (required): Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Mainly Barry, but also a small radius within The Vale of Glamorgan
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: I can offer short periods of 3 - 4 hours during the day, but also overnight care
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Monday Overnight/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Wednesday Overnight/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Thursday Overnight/Friday AM/Friday PM/Friday Overnight/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Sunday Overnight/
Further Information: For the PM availability I do not drive in the dark, like wise for the overnight, unless it was local or in the Barry area or within walking distance