Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title (required): Mrs.Town (required): BarryCounty (required): Vale of GlamorganI confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): YesPlease read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): My husband and I are hoping to foster older children in the next 12 months, so Im interested in doing PA work of this nature to gain valuable experience. My mum has a complex physical disability - my sister and I cared for her growing up. My dad has bipolar disorder and is medically retired. I class myself as neurodivergent, though I have never been diagnosed with a disorder. Through this life experience, I became very interested in the human condition, psychological development, and the impact of trauma. Im in the process of finishing an Advanced Counsellor & Psychotherapist Level 4 course through the Association of Learning. I work from home as a self-employed Copywriter, so a few hours per week is ideal as Im not looking for a full time job. I set my own schedule, so I can be very flexible.What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): Patience, compassion, understanding, and empathy. Warmth, friendliness, and playfulness. Like all of us, disabled people want to feel seen, heard, safe, and supported. To feel cared for whilst still maintaining some agency. This may be a bigger mountain to climb depending on their challenges and prior experiences, which is why those traits listed at the start are so important. It may take a while to build trust, a good PA would understand this is never personal, be willing to persevere, and have the flexibility to try different approaches.How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): It depends on the person. I dont think Id be particularly well-suited to supporting a non-verbal person who requires lots of physical care. But for someone who needs a responsible yet playful PA who is creative and genuinely enthusiastic about indulging their hobbies and interests, I believe I can offer much enrichment to a young persons world.What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): My husband and I plan to become foster parents soon. Were very aware that this involves supporting young people who have faced deeply traumatic experiences. I have excellent understanding of what this involves on paper, but I feel like its important to gain practical experience. My husband works with young people with disabilities at Ysgol Y Deri, and hes soon to be a qualified play therapist. So as a household, we have a good understanding of what this work involves, and were both passionate about making a positive difference.What are your hobbies/interests?: I spend a lot of time learning about topics of interest on YouTube. I also like yoga, video games, board games, getting out in nature, and harassing my cat. This particular job stood out to me because I believe I have plenty in common with the two sisters I studied psychology, I enjoy board games, and I can play chess (badly, but I can still play!)Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): YesDo you speak any other languages? (required): I have a 1000 day streak on Duolingo, having completed courses in Dutch, Greek, and Spanish. Despite all this, I speak no other languages.Do you drive? (required): YesAre you a vehicle owner?  (required): YesDo you smoke? (required): NoAre you able to undertake training? (required): YesWhat days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): I prefer days, but Im flexible.Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): YesIf you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: If I have my own work, I may struggle to accept last minute assignments.Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): Yes/Please provide details if necessary: When I was 12, I got a reprimand for shoplifting. This was meant to be wiped from my records because it was a very minor offence and I was a child - but to my knowledge it still shows up on standard and enhanced DBS checks.I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): YesI consent to the above (required): YesI agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: YesWhat geographical area’s are you able to cover?: BarryHow many hours of work can you offer per week? (required): 5Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Further Information: