Quote ref: CDP1624 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am 26 years old and live in Llanrumney.  I am looking for a personal assistant who can support me with tasks I may find difficult.

 

I am disabled and an ambulatory power wheelchair user. I have multiple conditions the main ones being; hypermobile ehlers danlos syndrome (hEDS), Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), Chronic Fatigue Syndrome with Widespread Chronic Pain, Chronic Back Pain and I also have an Ileostomy (I call him Farley). Anxiety, Depression and cPTSD. I have difficulties standing for long periods and constantly standing up and sitting down flares my POTS symptoms. I am prone to dislocations or partial dislocations but I manage these independently. I also on occasion pass out from POTS but I always come around within a few minutes and will just carry on with my day. 

 

I am quite crafty; I love to crochet in particular. I am a Scout and Explorer leader. I love being outside in general and walking my dog (when she is not being mischievous).

 

PLACE OF WORK

Support at home required to help me be more independent, live a happier life and take the strain off others.

 

I'm more comfortable with fewer PA's. I only require one PA for each task however, for scheduling/timings I'd be more than happy to consider 2 PA's.

 

 

HOURS OF WORK

12.5 hours on average per week.


Morning Personal Care: Monday to Friday 2 hours per day- either 7:30 - 9:30am or 8:00 - 10:00am.


5 hours every 2 weeks for support with meal prep, days and times for meal prep day to be confirmed.

RATE OF PAY

 

£12.80 per hour

 

TASKS INVOLVED

·        Support with showering, washing hair or having a bath. Reminders for personal care tasks like brushing teeth, washing face. Reminders to use my catheter and reminders to change my ostomy bag. 

·        Support with taking clothes out of the wardrobe and putting away and some help with physical dressing.

·         Preparing breakfast in the morning, support with collecting a food click and collect delivery and meal preparation - you don't need to be a good cook or a chef as I have all my recipes available. I really enjoy cooking but physically struggle with it and the heat in the kitchen. 

 

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

I am looking for a female PA due to personal care tasks.  It is extremely important that you have good communication skills around scheduling. Applicants must be reliable, punctual, empathetic, trustworthy, willing to learn and friendly - at 26 I prefer to have good, positive, chatty, fun relationships with my PA's. 

 

Experience is preferred but not essential. All aspects can be learnt along the way. Some understanding of my conditions would be useful but this is something we can discuss together. 

 

Full UK driving licence - not essential 

 

Must like dogs, I have a 2yr old dog who is full of energy and would love to be friends. 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A probation period will be necessary in the first instance.  Wages will be paid 4 weekly.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

 

 

Thank you.