To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click Here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title (required): Miss.

Address 2: Rumney


I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes


Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): My paid employment to date has been spent in the dental industry working at chair-side as a dental nurse and later in dental nurse training. These roles allowed me to build and form relationships with a variety for individuals from all social and cultural areas of society. Working with individuals in a dental setting required a level of professionalism. I was bound by a set of professional standards derived from legislation and codes of practice, these include trustworthiness, honesty, integrity, respect, confidentiality, consent as well as cross infection control and covid-19 procedures. Aside from the above, I have been an informal carer for my grandmother, since she suffered a life changing stroke 18 years ago. Having lost the ability to utilise the left side of her body my grandmother required intense care during the early days of rehabilitation, including personal care. She is now somewhat more able, however I still attend on average around 3 hours per week to complete general house hold chores such as cleaning. As a mum of two myself, I can appreciate the challenges facing parents on a daily basis including getting them to and from school each day and the organisational skills required. Naturally, people feel quite at ease in my company. I am a non-judgemental individual, always keen to listen and assist people where possible. From personal experience I understand that individuals do not always want strangers in their home providing them with care. Undertaking work through direct payments would allow myself and the individual to build a rapport and relationship, whereby they look forward to our visits.


What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): When working with disabled individuals it is important to view them as an individual. It is important not to work in an oppressive way, but to promote and build confidence within individuals through trust. By nature I am a kind, caring and empathetic person. Id like to think this is portrayed in my mannerism. Other qualities I possess which are important include problem solving, active listening and communication skills.


How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): In order to contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person it is imperative to listen to the wishes, thoughts and feelings of the individual. As a first year social work student, I have an understanding that individuals really are experts in their own care and the requirements that are needed to live as independently as possible.


What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): As a first year social work student I am keen to find a role that not only works around my studies but also adds to my knowledge and skill base. As a sociable women I would relish the opportunity to assist others in getting out and about in the community, completing activities that will hopefully enhance their overall health and well-being.


What are your hobbies/interests?: As a mum of two boys most of my spare time is spent watching them train/play rugby and football. I enjoy the usual activities of spending time with friends and family. Long walks along the coast or anywhere with water. And (occasionally) the odd visit to the gym, spin is my thing! The remainder of my time is spent studying for my degree.


Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes


Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No


Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes


What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): As of late April 2022 I will have full availability to cover any shifts available between then and September due to my uni timetable. In the interim I am available on a Monday, Tuesday and the weekends.


Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): Yes


If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: University timetable


Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/


I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes


I consent to the above (required): Yes


I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes


What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: St.Mellons Rumney Llanrumney Trowbridge Old St.Mellons


How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 16


Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM


Further Information: I am a first year social work student in Cardiff. Once the academic year has come to an end I will have full availability between May - Late Sept/October.