Quote reference PM1993 on application. Apply now 

JOB DESCRIPTION

 

Personal Assistant

 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 10 year old girl living with my parents and sister in the Llantrisant area. I have Autistic Spectrum Disorder and learning difficulties. I can communicate my needs and intentions but have difficulties in conversing and understanding some things. I have echolalia which mean I sometimes repeat things instead of answering questions because I don’t always understand. It takes me time to process things a person says, so I need someone who is calm and patient to be with me. I am an active person who is often seeking activity and sensory input.

At home I like to spend time on my iPad, colouring in colouring books, playing with playdoh, playing musical instruments, cooking/ baking, role playing, trampolining and spending time in the garden in warmer weather. When outside I like going to the park, going on forest walks, berry picking, nature and going to the beach to explore. I have no sense of danger and I can run fast, so I need someone to watch me at all times to make sure I am safe, particularly around road safety and water. I am interested in lots of things around me and am quite adventures lively and fearless so its important that my carer can assess the safety of all the things I attempt to do. I occasionally enjoy free play at the gymnastics sessions, soft play, trampolining and swimming

 

PURPOSE OF JOB

My parents are looking to employ two personal assistants to help and support me to go out into the community and undertake social and leisure activities. This would involve travelling to the location of the activity in your vehicle, supervising me and ensuring my safety whilst I’m there. I require support with all aspects of being out and about. Sometimes the role may involve supervising me at home so my parents can leave the house to run errands.

 

PLACE OF WORK

Home and out in the community/socialising

 

HOURS OF WORK

3 hours per week

 

RATE OF PAY

£12.50 per hour mileage to be discussed

 

TASKS INVOLVED

·         Supporting me to go out and about.

·         Supervising me at all times to make sure I am safe.

·         Help me find new activities and places to go.

·         Take me to the park.

·         Take me to the MacDonalds drive thru.

·         Someone to supervise me at home if my parents are not in the house.

·         Help me access my snacks/food/drink.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

·         Driver with access to own vehicle.

·         Must be a non smoker

·         Someone vigilant, present in the moment and pays attention at all times.

·         Someone friendly, approachable and has patience.

·         Someone punctual and reliable as routine is very important to me.

·         Someone quite active and energetic

·         Flexible with hours of work.

·         Positive approach to the job.

·         Confident and able to work on your own initiative.

·         Respectful of other people's homes and property.

·         Someone who shares my interests and can suggest things to do.

 

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Thank you